+612 9045 4394
Confronting Silence : Selected Writings - Taoru Takemitsu

Paperback Published: 1st May 1995
ISBN: 9780914913368
Number Of Pages: 155

Share This Book:
Ships in 15 business days

In these writings, available here in English for the first time, the distinguished Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu reflects on his contemporaries, including John Cage, Olivier Messiaen, and Merce Cunningham; on nature, which has profoundly influenced his composition; on film and painting; on relationships between East and West; on traditional Japanese music; and on his own compositions.

Industry Reviews

"This fine book...is an excellent introduction to the original and provacative thinking of one of today's most important composers. The translation preserves the color and elegance of his prose."--American Music Teacher

List of Plates
Author's Preface
Translators' Preface
Nature and Music (From "A Composer's Diary")p. 3
On His Contemporaries
John Cagep. 27
Merce Cunninghamp. 32
Jasper Johnsp. 34
Conversation on Seeingp. 36
The Landscape of the Scorep. 46
On Music
A Single Soundp. 51
The Distance from Ud to Biwap. 53
Noh and Transiencep. 56
Sound of East, Sound of Westp. 59
On Art
Isamu Noguchi - Travelerp. 69
Redon Fantasyp. 71
A Personal Approachp. 79
Notes on November Stepsp. 83
Mirror and Eggp. 91
Dream and Numberp. 97
People and Treesp. 129
Waterp. 132
In Memoriam
Music is Life: John Cage, the Elegant Revolutionaryp. 137
The Passing of Feldman, Nono, and Messiaenp. 139
Gardener of Timep. 142
Indexp. 145
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780914913368
ISBN-10: 0914913360
Series: Fallen Leaf Monographs on Contemporary Composers
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 155
Published: 1st May 1995
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 22.61 x 15.24  x 1.52
Weight (kg): 0.25