+612 9045 4394
Conducting Beethoven: Volume 2 : Overtures, Concertos, Missa Solemnis - Norman Del Mar

Conducting Beethoven: Volume 2

Overtures, Concertos, Missa Solemnis

Paperback Published: 2nd September 1993
ISBN: 9780198163596
Number Of Pages: 160

Share This Book:


or 4 easy payments of $22.49 with Learn more
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Following on from his reflections on conducting the nine Beethoven symphonies, Del Mar now gives his views on the remainder of Beethoven's orchestral output. He offers analyses of the music's structure, pointing out key events in the score, and gives advice on how to achieve the desired effect. Drawing on a lifetime's experience of conducting, these reflections are an essential starting-point for young conducters. Other titles by Del Mar include "Conducting Beethoven: Volume 1 The Symphonies", "Richard Strauss - A Critical Commentary on His Life and Works" (3 volumes), "Mahler's Sixth Symphony: A Study", "Orchestral Variations", "Anatomy of the Orchestra" and "A Companion to the Orchestra".

'these beautifully written books are to be read in conjunction with the scores: Del Mar takes the reader meitculously through the works, bar by bar ... he is completely trustworthy ... For both the student conductor and those with more experience, the books are thought-provoking, stimulating and above all illuminating. They are also extremely practical. Norman Del Mar's own wide knowledge and experience of the repertoire shines through these instructive pages. In the immediate aftermath of Norman Del Mar's death, it is hard not to read these marvellous books as part-autobiography. Thanks to the clarity of his descriptions, one can almost hear Del Mar's performances on the page. These chapters will remain as vital a musical legacy as any of his own recordings.' Jane Glover, BBC Music

Introductionp. vii
Overture Prometheus, Op. 43p. 1
Overture Coriolan, Op. 62p. 4
Overture Leonora No. 1, Op. 138p. 9
Overtures Leonora Nos. 2 and 3, Op. 72Ap. 15
Overture Fidelio, Op. 72Bp. 24
Overture Egmont, Op. 84p. 28
Overture The Ruins of Athens, Op. 113p. 33
Overture Zur Namensfeier, Op. 115p. 36
Overture King Stephen, Op. 117p. 40
Overture Die Weihe des Hauses, Op. 124p. 43
Piano Concerto No. 1 in C, Op. 15p. 50
Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat, Op. 19p. 57
Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37p. 64
Piano Concerto No. 4 in G, Op. 58p. 74
Piano Concerto No. 5 in E flat, Op. 73p. 84
Violin Concerto in D, Op. 61p. 100
Triple Concerto in C, Op. 56p. 115
Two Romances for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 40 and Op. 50p. 126
Leonora's Recitative and Aria 'Abscheulicher' from Fidelio, Act 1p. 131
Missa Solemnis in D, Op. 123p. 139
Indexp. 175
Table of Contents provided by Syndetics. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780198163596
ISBN-10: 0198163592
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 160
Published: 2nd September 1993
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.54 x 13.67  x 1.45
Weight (kg): 0.26