Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Cleopatra and Frankenstein - Coco Mellors

Cleopatra and Frankenstein

By: Coco Mellors

Paperback | 8 March 2023

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
For readers of Modern Lovers and Conversations with Friends, an addictive, humorous, and poignant debut novel about the shock waves caused by one couple's impulsive marriage.

New York is slipping from Cleo’s grasp. Sure, she’s at a different party every other night, but she barely knows anyone. Her student visa is running out, and she doesn’t even have money for cigarettes. But then she meets Frank. Twenty years older, Frank's life is full of all the success and excess that Cleo's lacks. He offers her the chance to be happy, the freedom to paint, and the opportunity to apply for a green card. She offers him a life imbued with beauty and art and, hopefully, a reason to cut back on his drinking. He is everything she needs right now.

Cleo and Frank run head-first into a romance that neither of them can quite keep up with. It reshapes their lives and the lives of those around them, whether that’s Cleo's best friend struggling to embrace his gender identity in the wake of her marriage, or Frank's financially dependent sister arranging sugar daddy dates after being cut off. Ultimately, this chance meeting between two strangers outside of a New Year’s Eve party changes everything, for better or worse.

Cleopatra and Frankenstein is an astounding and painfully relatable debut novel about the spontaneous decisions that shape our entire lives and those imperfect relationships born of unexpectedly perfect evenings.

About the Author

Coco Mellors was raised in London and New York City. She completed her MFA in Fiction at New York University, where she was a Goldwater Fellow. She currently lives in Venice, Los Angeles.
Industry Reviews
‘A tender, devastating and funny exploration of love and friendship and the yearning for self-evisceration. Coco Mellors is an elegant and exciting new voice’ - PANDORA SYKES, author of How Do We Know We’re Doing It Right

More in Modern & Contemporary Fiction

Blue Sisters : Our June Book of the Month - Coco Mellors

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
My Favourite Mistake - Marian Keyes

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
Funny Story : The New 2024 novel from the author of Happy Place - Emily Henry
Caledonian Road - Andrew O'Hagan

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Call It What You Want : A Novel - Alissa DeRogatis

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Untamed : The Official Artbook (Hardcover) - Mo Xiang Tong Xiu

RRP $95.00

$61.75

35%
OFF
Our Holiday - Louise Candlish

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Lies and Weddings - Kevin Kwan

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Parade - Rachel Cusk

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
I Hope This Finds You Well - Natalie Sue

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Talking at Night - Claire Daverley

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Scaffolding - Lauren Elkin

Hardcover

$41.25

The Little Clothes - Deborah Callaghan

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF