+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Children of Blood and Bone : Orisha Legacy - Tomi Adeyemi

Children of Blood and Bone

Orisha Legacy

Hardcover

Published: 6th March 2018
For Ages: 15 - 18 years old
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $37.99
$24.75
35%
OFF

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zelie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zelie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zelie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zelie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zelie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." -Entertainment Weekly

"The epic I've been waiting for." -New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!" -New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

"The next big thing in literature and film." -Ebony

"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." -Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

"A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut." --New York Times-bestselling author Daniel Jos� Older

"High stakes, a captivating fantasy landscape, and a brave heroine worth rooting for make Children of Blood and Bone unlike anything I've ever read." --Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures and author of The Lovely Reckless

"Powerful, captivating, and raw--Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional." --Kirkus, Starred Review

"Adeyemi's devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love." --Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

..". Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel Jose� Older, and Sabaa Tahir." --Booklist, Starred Review

..".A refreshing YA fantasy with an all-West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf." --School Library Journal, Starred Review

"This is an exceptional debut from the author and will have a huge audience desperately waiting for more. Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas." --VOYA, Starred Review

"Nigerian culture and geography... give this fantasy a distinct flavor, further distinguished by the intensity of emotion." --Horn Book

ISBN: 9781250170972
ISBN-10: 1250170974
Series: Orisha Legacy
Audience: Teenager / Young Adult
For Ages: 15 - 18 years old
For Grades: 10 - 12
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 544
Published: 6th March 2018
Publisher: HENRY HOLT & CO
Dimensions (cm): 23.5 x 15.88  x 3.81
Weight (kg): 0.7