+612 9045 4394
Chekhov : Plays - Anton Chekhov

Paperback Published: 1st August 2006
ISBN: 9780413181602
Number Of Pages: 384

Share This Book:


RRP $35.00
This title is not in stock at the Booktopia Warehouse and needs to be ordered from our supplier.
Click here to read more about delivery expectations.

The reputation of Anton Chekhov as one of the greatest precursors of modern drama rests largely on these four masterpieces.

This volume includes The Seagull, a tale about the battle for power between a mother and her son that ends in tragedy; Uncle Vanya tells of two obsessive love affairs that lead nowhere, and a flirtation that brings disaster; Three Sisters, in which three siblings wrestle with their futures; and The Cherry Orchard, where the old must inevitably give way to the new.

Haunting and elusive, these four masterpieces have found in Michael Frayn a translator who perfectly captures their delicate balance of the tragic and the absurd. The volume also contains four of Chekhov's early short "vaudevilles" as well as a substantial introduction by Michael Frayn.

"The critical clamour for a Complete Chekhov in ... Frayn's translation has borne fruit."—Sunday Times

The Seagull; Uncle Vanya; Three Sisters; The Cherry Orchard

ISBN: 9780413181602
ISBN-10: 041318160X
Series: Methuen World Classics
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 1st August 2006
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.32 x 12.45  x 3.05
Weight (kg): 0.45
Edition Number: 1

This product is categorised by