+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Charles Lamb, Elia and the London Magazine : Metropolitan Muse - Simon P. Hull

Charles Lamb, Elia and the London Magazine

Metropolitan Muse

Hardcover Published: 1st January 2010
ISBN: 9781851966615
Number Of Pages: 226

Share This Book:

Hardcover

RRP $544.99
$377.35
31%
OFF
or 4 easy payments of $94.34 with Learn more
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Earn 755 Qantas Points
on this Book

The inherent 'metropolitanism' of writing for a Romantic-era periodical is here explored through the Elia articles that Charles Lamb wrote for the London Magazine. A large number of Lamb's essays are here discussed in their historical context but also, crucially, within the context of the periodical as an integral part of Lamb's construction of self. Hull argues that Lamb's persona of Elia is a pivotal figure in the London Magazine - an embodiment of what London is and what it stands for. Lamb is an author who has proved particularly problematic for literary criticism. Here Hull is able to provide a balanced treatment, interpreting Elia as simultaneously an aspect of Lamb's humour and his political sensibility.

Industry Reviews

'This is an extraordinary study that covers an impressive body of often overlooked literature with subtlety, skill and aplomb ... It is a must-read for for readers of Lamb, Cockneyism and writings of the city.' The Charles Lamb Bulletin 'Simon Hull's book is an especially welcome reevaluation of Lamb's essay writing.' New Books Online 19

Introduction 1 Consuming the Periodical Text: Hunt, Hazlitt and the Anxiety of Cockneyism 2 Domesticating the Flaneur: Coleridge, De Quincey and the Forms of Metropolitanism 3 The Great Wen and the Rural Gothic 4 Utility and Pity: Wordsworth, Blake and Egan, and the Act of Charity 5 Lamb, Theatricality and the Fool Conclusion

ISBN: 9781851966615
ISBN-10: 1851966617
Series: The History of the Book
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 226
Published: 1st January 2010
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 24.13 x 16.51  x 1.91
Weight (kg): 0.49

Earn 755 Qantas Points
on this Book