+612 9045 4394
Chappell's Last Stand - Michael Sexton

Chappell's Last Stand

Paperback Published: 26th September 2017
ISBN: 9781925584424

Other Formats

Share This Book:


RRP $29.99
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 19 Qantas Points
on this Book

Swashbuckling and fearless, Ian Chappell epitomised Australian cricket in the 1970s. When he gave up the Test captaincy, he set out to salvage south Australian pride.

Chappell’s Last Stand zooms in on what was supposed to be the mercurial cricketer’s last year as a player, when he went to war with administrators and took his state side from wooden spoon ignominy to shield glory.

Described in vivid detail by ABC journalist Michael Sexton, Chappell’s Last Stand investigates an astounding year of cricket from the perspectives of those who witnessed it first-hand. Illustrating the tenacity and cricketing genius of Ian Chappell, it provides unique insight into the rivalries, talents and tensions of a pivotal time in the sport, when the revolution of World Series Cricket was looming.

Featuring interviews with the greats from the era – Ian and Greg Chappell, Dennis Lillee, the late Terry Jenner and David Hookes, Rod Marsh, Jeff Thomson, Ashley Mallett and many more.

About the Author

Michael Sexton has worked as a journalist for more than 30 years in Australia and abroad. He has worked in news, current affairs and documentary. His written work includes biography, environmental science and sport. In 2015 he co-authored Playing On, the biography of Neil Sachse published by Affirm Press. Chappell’s Last Stand is his seventh book.

Industry Reviews

A riveting read ... Chappell's Last Stand reminds us of the qualities of one of Australia's most-acclaimed leaders. - Ken Piesse

ISBN: 9781925584424
ISBN-10: 1925584429
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Published: 26th September 2017
Publisher: Affirm Press
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.5  x 1.8
Weight (kg): 0.33
Edition Number: 1

Earn 19 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by