+612 9045 4394
Casting Off : Cazalet Chronicles : Book 4 - Elizabeth Jane Howard

Casting Off

Cazalet Chronicles : Book 4


Published: 1st September 1996
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $18.99

eBook View Product

Published: 1st November 2013
Format: ePUB

The aftermath of war, and the slow dawning of a new era of freedom and opportunity, shape the destinies of the Cazalets in the final volume of this magnificent family saga. Polly, Clary and Louise, now grown up, are ready to discover the truth about the adult world. While Rupert, Hugh and Edward must make the choices that will decide their own - and the family's - future. For the Cazalets, and all those close to them, one end is another beginning...

About the Author

Elizabeth Jane Howard is the author of fourteen highly acclaimed novels, most recently Love All. The Cazalet Chronicles - The Light Years, Marking Time, Confusion and Casting Off - have become established as modern classics and were adapted for a major BBC television series. In 2002 Macmillan published her autobiography, Slipstream. In that same year she was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.



by PowerReviews
Casting Off

(based on 1 review)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars



  • 4 Stars



  • 3 Stars



  • 2 Stars



  • 1 Stars



Reviewed by 1 customer

Displaying review 1

Back to top


The story continues


from Sydney, Australia

About Me Bookworm

Verified Buyer


  • Engaging Characters
  • Well Written


    Best Uses

      Comments about Casting Off:

      This book is the fourth of five and you really need to have read the previous three to fully enjoy it. The series paints a clear picture of an upper middle class family in England from just before WW2 to the end of the 20th century. Readers who enjoyed The Forsyte Saga will love this series.

      Displaying review 1

      Back to top

      After The Light Years, Marking Time and Confusion comes this, the fourth and final part of Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazalet Chronicle. The whole is set in the period from 1937 to 1947, this volume taking the story from the immediate aftermath of victory in Europe. This is a story of the end of an era, not a beginning. Characters are changed not simply by events, but by time itself, some inevitably by emerging into adulthood. Painful adjustments are the order of the day - as the cast, from Polly, Clary and Louise to Rupert and Edward, discover. Elizabeth Jane Howard is a writer who, with immense skill, has taken the conventions of the romantic saga and deepened them to provide an unforgettable picture of England changing. (Kirkus UK)

      ISBN: 9780330344814
      ISBN-10: 0330344811
      Series: Cazalet Chronicles
      Audience: General
      Format: Paperback
      Language: English
      Number Of Pages: 640
      Published: 1st September 1996
      Publisher: Pan Macmillan
      Country of Publication: AU
      Dimensions (cm): 20.0 x 13.0  x 3.8
      Weight (kg): 0.42
      Edition Number: 1
      Edition Type: New edition