+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Cambridge Tracts in Theoretical Computer Science : Formal Specification and Design Series Number 35 - L. M. G. Feijs

Cambridge Tracts in Theoretical Computer Science

Formal Specification and Design Series Number 35

Paperback

Published: 10th November 2005
RRP $72.95
$64.95
11%
OFF
if ordered within
This title is not in stock at the Booktopia Warehouse and needs to be ordered from our supplier.
Click here to read more about delivery expectations.

Formal specification is a method for precisely modelling computer-based systems that combines concepts from software engineering and mathematical logic. In this book the authors describe algebraic and state-based specification techniques from the unified view of the Common Object-oriented Language for Design, COLD, a wide-spectrum language in the tradition of VDM and Z. The kernel language is explained in detail, with many examples, including: set representation, a display device, an INGRES-like database system, and a line editor. Fundamental techniques such as initial algebra semantics, loose semantics, partial functions, hiding, sharing, predicate and dynamic logic, abstraction functions, representation of invariants and black-box correctness are also presented. More advanced ideas, for example Horn logic, and large systems are given in the final part. Appendices contain full details of the language's syntax and a specification library. Techniques for software development and design are emphasised throughout, so the book will be an excellent choice for courses in these areas.

..".well-written...a good introduction to formal specification concepts. It is very readable and elegant. It may be used in an almost notation-independent way, not just by those who are interested in the COLD-K notation." H.I. Kilov, Computing Reviews

Algebraic Specification
Introducing the basic concepts
Setting up algebraic specifications
Structuring algebraic specifications
Implementing algebraic specifications
State-Based Specification
From algebras to states
Setting up state-based specification
Structuring state-based specification
Implementing state-based specification
Advanced Techniques
Theoretical topics
Additional language constructs
Towards large systems
Bibliography
Appendices
Index
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521435925
ISBN-10: 0521435927
Series: Cambridge Tracts in Theoretical Computer Science
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 352
Published: 10th November 2005
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 24.4 x 17.0  x 1.9
Weight (kg): 0.56