+612 9045 4394
Cambridge Composer Studies : Janacek Studies - Paul Wingfield

Cambridge Composer Studies

Janacek Studies

By: Paul Wingfield (Editor)


Published: 2nd November 2006
RRP $76.95
This title is not in stock at the Booktopia Warehouse and needs to be ordered from our supplier.
Click here to read more about delivery expectations.

This book is the first major publication devoted to the music of Janacek, now widely regarded as one of the most important composers of the early twentieth century. The essays, all by leading scholars, deal with a broad range of subjects relating to opera, symphonic poem, instrumental music, cultural context and reception. Some topics, such as the sources of Janacek's musical expressivity, questions of narrative, Janacek as musical analyst and Janacek as realist, are considered seriously for the first time, whilst other more conventional topics, such as 'speech melody' and Janacek's ethnographic activities, are reappraised. A transcription of Janacek's analytical study of 'Jeux de vagues' from Debussy's La mer is published for the first time, and this document is considered in the light of Janacek's theory of music as a whole and of the reception of La mer.

'After reading this volume, even those sceptical about Roger Scruton's recent claim that Janacek is the greatest of all twentieth-century composers should find it more difficult to ignore his music, and the interpretative challenges it poses, than they might have done before.' Arnold Whittall, Music and Letters

Expressive sources and resources in Janacek's musical language
'Nothing but pranks and puns': Janacek's solo piano music
Narrative in Janacek's symphonic poems
Evasive realism: narrative construction in Dostoyevsky's and Janacek's From the House of the Dead
Direct discourse and speech melody in Janacek's operas
Kundera's eternal present and Janacek's ancient Gypsy
Janacek's folk settings and the Vixen
Janacek's operas in Australia and New Zealand: a performance history
Janacek's Moravian publishers
Janacek, musical analysis, and Debussy's 'Jeux de vagues'
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521027724
ISBN-10: 0521027721
Series: Cambridge Composer Studies
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 304
Published: 2nd November 2006
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.8 x 15.2  x 2.1
Weight (kg): 0.46