Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Brunswick Street Blues - Sally Bothroyd

Brunswick Street Blues

By: Sally Bothroyd

Paperback | 2 March 2022

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $29.99

$27.90

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
Winner of the inaugural ASA/HQ Commercial Fiction Prize. The twists keep piling up in this fun and distinctively Australian debut mystery, perfect for readers of The Thursday Murder Club and Janet Evanovich.

Brick Brown has problems: she hates her day job, and her beloved Uncle Baz has gone missing.

Although a bartender by trade, Brick Brown has finagled herself a job on the city council to investigate a complaint that threatens to close her uncle's well-loved blues club in the heart of Melbourne.

Brick suspects something strange is going on, but when her amateur sleuthing uncovers the mayor's dead body in a locked room, she's dragged into the dangerous world of dodgy developers with the reluctant help of Mitch Mitchell, a prickly war correspondent turned investigative journalist.

Relying on her street smarts and an unlikely band of allies, Brick and Mitchell unearth corruption that runs deeper than just local government, and the stakes are higher than they banked on. And when Brick also discovers some terrifying information about her past, the stakes turn deadly...

About the Author

Sally Bothroyd lives in Darwin with her partner and daughter. She's currently the director of the Northern Territory Writers' Centre, but before that worked for many years as a journalist - both in broadcast and in print. Sally grew up in Victoria and lived in Melbourne in the 1990s. She returned there for a period in the 2000s to study filmmaking at the Victoria College of the Arts.

She has made several short films which have appeared at film festivals around Australia and overseas. She's a longtime fan of crime fiction and had a short story shortlisted for the 2020 Scarlet Stiletto Awards, run by Sisters in Crime.

More in Crime & Mystery Fiction

Pheasants Nest - Louise Milligan

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Midnight Feast - Lucy Foley

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Year of the Locust - Terry Hayes

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Death in the Air - Ram Murali

RRP $32.99

$30.25

What Happened to Nina? : The No. 1 Bestseller - Dervla McTiernan
The Kellerby Code : 'Magnificent' Richard Osman - Jonny Sweet
The Brisbane Line - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$23.95

20%
OFF
Beautiful Death : DCI Jack Hawksworth: Book 2 - Fiona McIntosh
The Vanishing Point - Andrea Hotere

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Alex Cross Must Die : (Alex Cross 31) - James Patterson

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Resurrection Walk : The New Lincoln Lawyer Thriller - Michael Connelly
The Secret : Jack Reacher, Book 28 - Lee Child

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Death Comes to Marlow : Marlow Murder Club - Robert Thorogood