+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Breaking the Tongue : A Novel - Vyvyane Loh

Breaking the Tongue

A Novel

Paperback

Published: 17th March 2005
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $47.95
$40.50
16%
OFF

"This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."-Library Journal "A moving accomplishment."-Publishers Weekly, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."-Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."-Andrea Barrett "A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."-Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalists-including the elusive young woman Ling-Li-mingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included.

"Dramatic...One of the most ambitious and accomplished debut novels in recent memory." - Kirkus Reviews "A moving accomplishment." - Publishers Weekly

ISBN: 9780393326543
ISBN-10: 0393326543
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 416
Published: 17th March 2005
Publisher: WW Norton & Co
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.8 x 14.0  x 2.5
Weight (kg): 0.44
Edition Number: 1