+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner... Life! : Recipes and Adventures from My Home Kitchen - Missy Robbins

Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner... Life!

Recipes and Adventures from My Home Kitchen

Hardcover Published: 1st October 2017
ISBN: 9780847859979
Number Of Pages: 224

Share This Book:

Hardcover

RRP $69.99
$47.40
32%
OFF
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 95 Qantas Points
on this Book

Chronicling a personal journey in the vein of Eat Pray Love and Wild, with some of the behind-the-scenes of a chef's real life that drew readers to Blood, Bones, and Butter, this cookbook-memoir tells the story of celebrated chef Missy Robbins's 'year off' after an acclaimed twenty-year nonstop career in professional kitchens. The story of how, at forty, she finally learned to cook for herself (meaning, among other things, learning to love her tiny West Village kitchen), and her discovery and rediscovery of food, family, and her own self is told through twelve chapters that feature related recipes in Missy's signature thoughtful, ingredient-driven style – all perfectly suited for being cooked at home.

A personal, from-the-heart memoir-cookbook about learning to cook, eat, and live all for oneself by acclaimed chef Missy Robbins.

About the Author

Missy Robbins is recognized for her exemplary Italian cuisine. She received critical acclaim as Executive Chef of A Voce restaurants (A Voce Columbus and A Voce Madison) from the 2008 to 2013. Under her direction, A Voce Madison earned a Michelin star in 2009, and A Voce Columbus earned its Michelin star in 2010. (Both stars were maintained throughout her tenure.) Preciously, Robbins was executive chef at Spiaggia in Chicago, during which time the restaurant was nominated by The James Beard Foundation for Outstanding Restaurant (National) twice and for Outstanding Service in 2008.

After taking a year off from cooking in professional kitchens, Robbins opened her first restaurant, Lilia in 2016.Carrie King is a cookbook writer who has cooked in restaurants in France, Ireland, and New York. She is the co-author of Amanda Freitag's best-selling cookbook The Chef Next Door.

Industry Reviews

"Chef Missy Robbins, who can't be written about without a mention of her time cooking at Chicago's Spiaggia, where the Obamas became fans of her food, is to thank for the menu. She's friendly and smart and down-to-earth - traits I've learned from devouring her new cookbook, "Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner ... Life!" As a memoir peppered with her home kitchen recipes, it's a good read that's also lovely to look at. Somewhere between instructions on how to build a pantry and grill summer beans (which were on the menu at Lilia on a recent visit) and steps for preparing fried chicken and, of course, pastas, is a section on the Italian aperitivo hour - and a simple little instruction to pour the perfect negroni."
--The New York Times, T Magazine

"The first cookbook from NYC chef Missy Robbins (A Voce, Lilia) comes out September 19. Angled as a cookbook-memoir, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner...Life! Recipes and Adventures from My Home Kitchen is inspired by the year Robbins took off from cooking professionally to focus on her personal health and relationships"
--Eater.com

"The deal: Robbins' anticipated cookbook is like a look inside her culinary diary, with childhood favorites, signature Italian dishes, travel inspiration and more. Recipe to try: Any of the pasta dishes Good for: Home cooks looking for a challenge"
--AM New York

..".inspired by a recipe from her new cookbook: Breakfast, Lunch Dinner....Life! Recipes and Adventures from My Home Kitchen. "
--Gothamist

"We know its not a pasta book, but InStyle notes that the book houses over 100 recipes that were 'all dreamed up right before Missy opened Italian hot spot Lilia.' "
--InStyle

"Before she opened the always-booked Lilia in Brooklyn, Robbins was exploring what it meant for a professional chef to actually take time for herself. These are the simple, beautifully balanced recipes that sustained her in the process. "
--TastingTable.com

"Lilia, known for its otherworldly homemade pastas, has been one of New York's hottest restaurants since it opened in 2016. But if you can't get a reservation (and if you can, take us, please?), chef Missy Robbins's first cookbook is the next best thing. In addition to the Italian dishes that earned her a Michelin star, she includes homey favorites like chicken soup and dumplings, lots of veggies and even some Asian recipes inspired by international travel."
--PureWOW.com

"As executive chef of A Voce Madison and A Voce Columbus in New York, her skills earned both restaurants Michelin stars before deciding to take a year off. Her first cookbook, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner... Life!: Recipes and Adventures from My Home Kitchen, bears the fruits of that time, sharing the new world of cooking she discovered both in her tiny West Village kitchen, and travels around the world."
--Food & Wine Magazine

"Missy Robbins on Cooking Up Something New"
--Women's Wear Daily

"The charming and welcoming chef, who recently moved to Williamsburg to be closer to Lilia, chatted with Domino about the book, how she stays healthy, and her favorite go-to recipes."
--Domino

"New York City chef Missy Robbins took a year off from the restaurant game, and the result is this cookbook, an ode to cooking for the joy of it. There are, of course, the Italian dishes Robbins is famous for, but she also includes healthy fare and some Thai and Vietnamese-inspired recipes after taking a trip to those countries."
--Food52.com

"In her new cookbook, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner ... Life: Recipes and Adventures from My Home Kitchen (which came out in September), Robbins reveals her favorite version of an all-purpose tomato sauce"
--Bloomberg Pursuits

"Thankfully, when she's not sitting across from you, regaling you with the accounts of her pasta-making training in Italy, her new book, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner...Life is there to keep the craving satisfied"
--Saveur.com

"She is in the best shape of her life, she says, after adopting some healthier habits that have stuck with her, and has recently published a cookbook called Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner...Life where she shares the lessons and recipes she developed while she transitioned from cooking in a professional kitchen into much tighter and less lavishly-stocked quarters at home."
--Extra Crispy

"Missy Robbins has figured out a fundamental kitchen truth"
--Appetite For Books

"After a career of more than 20 years as an executive chef in professional kitchens, Robbins finally embraced the joy of cooking for herself at the age of 42. She documents this personal journey (and self-discovery) through food in her new book, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner... Life!"
--MyDomaine.com

"With a candid eye and a sense of humor, Robbins details her first days out of the kitchen and drops culinary wisdom culled from years in the business and extensive travel."
--Brownstoner

ISBN: 9780847859979
ISBN-10: 0847859975
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 224
Published: 1st October 2017
Publisher: Rizzoli International Publications
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 25.4 x 20.3  x 2.54
Weight (kg): 1.18

Earn 95 Qantas Points
on this Book