+612 9045 4394
Brahms : Symphony No. 1 - David Lee Brodbeck


Symphony No. 1


Published: 24th March 1997
RRP $41.95
This title is not in stock at the Booktopia Warehouse and needs to be ordered from our supplier.
Click here to read more about delivery expectations.

Other Available Formats (Hide)

Brahms's First Symphony has been hailed as Beethoven's Tenth. Its controversial status and relationship in the Beethovenian tradition is considered alongside other important issues in the early reception history of this key work in the symphonic repertory. David Brodbeck begins with an account of the lengthy genesis and complicated background to the writing of the symphony, before providing a thorough critical reading of the work, movement by movement. In particular, Professor Brodbeck reveals a dense web of extra-compositional allusions--references in the music to works by J. S. Bach, Beethoven, Schubert, and Robert Schumann--in which, the author argues, much meaning resides.

Frustrated efforts
Completion, first performances, and publication
Structure and meaning in the first movement
The middle movements
Structure and meaning in the last movement
Early reception
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521479592
ISBN-10: 0521479592
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 126
Published: 24th March 1997
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.34 x 13.46  x 1.02
Weight (kg): 0.25