+612 9045 4394
Brahms : Symphony No. 1 - David Lee Brodbeck


Symphony No. 1


Published: 30th June 2010
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $160.00
or 4 easy payments of $39.94 with Learn more

Other Available Formats (Hide)

Brahms's First Symphony has been hailed as Beethoven's Tenth. Its controversial status and relationship in the Beethovenian tradition is considered alongside other important issues in the early reception history of this key work in the symphonic repertory. David Brodbeck begins with an account of the lengthy genesis and complicated background to the writing of the symphony, before providing a thorough critical reading of the work, movement by movement. In particular, Professor Brodbeck reveals a dense web of extra-compositional allusions--references in the music to works by J. S. Bach, Beethoven, Schubert, and Robert Schumann--in which, the author argues, much meaning resides.

Frustrated efforts
Completion, first performances, and publication
Structure and meaning in the first movement
The middle movements
Structure and meaning in the last movement
Early reception
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521474320
ISBN-10: 0521474329
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 128
Published: 30th June 2010
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.6 x 13.8  x 1.5
Weight (kg): 0.25