+612 9045 4394
Brahms : Clarinet Quintet - Colin Lawson


Clarinet Quintet

Paperback Published: 9th March 1998
ISBN: 9780521588317
Number Of Pages: 132

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • Hardcover View Product Published: 28th January 1998

On its first appearance in 1891, Brahms' Clarinet Quintet was immediately recognised as a remarkable achievement, and a century later it still has the power to claim the hearts and minds of players and audiences alike. Widely regarded as Brahms' supreme achievement in the field of chamber music, the Clarinet Quintet is here placed in the context of the history of the clarinet and its repertory, and of Brahms' own compositions before 1891. The influence of the Meiningen clarinet virtuoso Richard Muhlfeld unleashed a new vein of creativity in Brahms, and this forms a basis for discussion, together with questions of performance practice (in relation to both clarinet and string quartet) and the legacy of Brahms' clarinet music. These chapters are complemented by a comprehensive analysis of the music.

List of illustrations
The nineteenth-century clarinet and its music
Brahms and the orchestral clarinet
Brahms's chamber music before 1891
The genesis and reception of the clarinet quintet
Design and structure
Performance practice
The legacy of Brahms's clarinet music
Select bibliography
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521588317
ISBN-10: 0521588316
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 132
Published: 9th March 1998
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.54 x 13.89  x 0.86
Weight (kg): 0.18