+612 9045 4394
Brahms 2 : Biographical, Documentary and Analytical Studies - Michael Musgrave

Brahms 2

Biographical, Documentary and Analytical Studies

By: Michael Musgrave (Editor)

Hardcover Published: 24th April 1987
ISBN: 9780521326063
Number Of Pages: 264

Share This Book:


RRP $215.00
or 4 easy payments of $48.19 with Learn more
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Other Available Editions (Hide)

This second volume of Brahms studies contains twelve contributions by leading international authorities on various music. Like the preceding volume of the same title (edited by Robert Pascall), Michael Musgrave's volume aims to provide original scholarly material on different facets of a major composer still inadequately discussed in book form and employs more precise methods of analysis and more critical approaches to materials then generally available in writings on Brahms in English. Half of the volume takes the music itself as focus, though from very different vantage points. There are two studies of a single opus (the two String Quartets Op. 51 Nos, 1 and 2), discussions of the Fourth Symphony and the motet 'Warum', and a view of Brahms's harmony. The underlying historical theme emerges more openly in an account of Brahms's interest in German Renaissance music. The remaining essays give details of the state of Brahms's unpublished compositions and arrangements at his death and the problematic disposal of his possessions (including musical ones), explore his own attitude to his historical position, and outline the reception of his music in Germany and, to begin with, in England.

Brahms and England
The establishment of a Brahms repertoire 1980 1902
New light on the Brahms
Brahms's 'Way': a composer's self-view
Brahms's posthumous compositions and arrangements: editorial problems and questions of authenticity
Brahms's links with German Renaissance music: a discussion of selected choral works
Brahms's Missa canonica and its recomposition in his Motet 'Warum' Op. 74 No. 1
The String Quartets Op. 51 No. 1 in C minor and No. 2 in A minor: a preface
Two of a kind? Brahms's Op. 51 finales
Motivic design and structural levels in the first movement of Brahms's String Quartet in C minor
The 'Sceptred Pall': Brahm's progressive harmony
Brahms the indecisive: notes on the first movement of the Fourth Symphony
Appendix: exhibition handlist
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521326063
ISBN-10: 0521326060
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 264
Published: 24th April 1987
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.8 x 15.2  x 1.9
Weight (kg): 0.56