+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Box 21 : A Novel - Anders Roslund

Paperback Published: 26th October 2010
ISBN: 9780312655341
Number Of Pages: 393
For Ages: 18+ years old

Share This Book:
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

The International Thriller that Stockholm City hailed as the "Best Crime Novel of the Year" has finally crossed the Atlantic

Three years ago, Lydia and Alena were two hopeful girls from Lithuania. Now they are sex slaves, lured to Sweden with the promise of better jobs and then trapped in a Stockholm brothel, forced to repay their "debt." Suddenly they are given an unexpected chance at freedom, and with it the opportunity to take revenge on their enslavers and reclaim the lives and dignity they once had. What will happen now that the tables are turned and the victims fight back?

In this masterful thriller, the celebrated team of Anders Roslund and Borge Hellstrom delve into the seedy underbelly of Stockholm. There we meet Lydia and Alena as they embark on a desperate plan to expose their captor and demand justice; police officers Sundkvist and Grens, on the trail of both Lydia's enslavers and Jochum Lang, a notorious mob enforcer; and Hilding Oldeus, a junkie on what might be his last--and most destructive--bender. At the Soder Hospital, their destinies begin to converge in unexpected and explosive ways.

About the Author

Anders Roslund is the founder and former head of "Kulturnyheterna" (Culture News) on Swedish Television. Borge Hellstrom is an ex-criminal who helps to rehabilitate young offenders and drug addicts.

A "NEW YORK TIMES" NOTABLE CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR

"A high-impact Swedish thriller." -- The New York Times

"Superb . . . Roslund and Hellstrom play out the tale in taut, short scenes, meting our revelations and shocks in sure, knowing fashion, ending with the shock that all but undoes the rest . . . "Box 21" is profound." -- The Philadelphia Inquirer

"This dark, explicit novel is another impressive crime thriller from Scandinavia. . . . A good read." -- Arizona Republic
"Gripping . . . the story takes a number of surprising twists and turns." -- The Washington Post Book World

"This excellent crime thriller is bound to please fans of Stieg Larsson's "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" and Henning Mankell's Kurt Wallander series." -- Library Journal
"A remarkable tale of loss, addiction and revenge. . . . This taut and nuanced thriller should appeal to fans of Mo Hayder, Denise Mina and, of course, Henning Mankell." -- Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

"What is it with Scandinavians and great crime writing? Something to do with the long nights, I guess. Box 21, with its sharply drawn cast of jaded cops, junkies, thugs, and victims, is a gripping tale of modern-day slavery, damage, and revenge, shocking and compelling in equal measure." --Simon Lewis, author of "Bad Traffic"

ISBN: 9780312655341
ISBN-10: 0312655347
Audience: General
For Ages: 18+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 393
Published: 26th October 2010
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.0 x 13.8  x 1.8
Weight (kg): 0.32

This product is categorised by