Book recommendations for Audiobook Month 2024

by |June 7, 2024
Man wearing headphones and a backpack walking outside

June is audiobook month! There’s never a better time to dive into an audiobook. Check out our Audiobook Month collection here to discover audiobooks under $8!

Why listen to an audiobook?

Audiobooks are a great way to get more reading into your day. You can listen while driving or commuting, in the bath, lying in bed or even while doing chores. And it’s all hands-free! Imagine not having to stop reading as you get to a really exciting moment in a book, just because you need to eat dinner. With audiobooks, the story can go on!

Audiobooks are also a great way to enjoy your favourite books in a new format. Amazing narrators, or even full cast audio productions, add something new to each story. If you love podcasts, non-fiction audiobooks might be a great place to explore first.

It’s easy to get started with audiobooks. You can download and listen instantly with the Booktopia App (available on the App Store and Google Play), or listen on selected Kobo eReaders!

Our recommended audiobooks this Audiobook Month

At the Foot of the Cherry Tree by Alli Parker

A stirring story of love and hope, based on the incredible true story of Australia’s first Japanese war bride and a love that changed a nation forever.

At the Foot of the Cherry Tree

BUY THE AUDIOBOOK

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

The New York Times bestseller and basis for the Tony-winning hit musical, soon to be a major motion picture starring Cynthia Erivo and Ariana Grande! An absorbing fantasy that delves into the background of the famed Wicked Witch of the West, a misunderstood creature who challenges the preconceived notions of good and evil.

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

BUY THE AUDIOBOOK

A Court this Cruel and Lovely by Stacia Stark

The first book in an addictive fantasy Kingdom of Lies series about secret power, slow burn romance, and dangerously high stakes . . .

A Court This Cruel and Lovely

BUY THE AUDIOBOOK

The Visitors by Jane Harrison

The remarkable debut novel from an award-winning author and playwright, for readers of Melissa Lucashenko, Shankari Chandran and Tara June Winch. An audacious, earthy, funny, gritty and powerful re-imagining of a crucial moment in Australia’s history – an unputdownable work of fiction.

The Visitors by Jane Harrison

BUY THE AUDIOBOOK

Orphia and Eurydicius by Elyse John

A beautiful compelling story of love and creativity to inspire readers of Jennifer Saint, Madeline Miller and Natalie Haynes. Their love transcends every boundary. Can it cheat death?

Orphia and Eurydicius

BUY THE AUDIOBOOK

Finding Me by Viola Davis

Winner of the 2023 GRAMMY Award for Best Spoken Word or Non-Musical Album. The deeply personal, brutally honest account of Viola’s inspiring life, from her coming-of-age in Rhode Island to her present-day career.

Finding Me by Viola Davis

BUY THE AUDIOBOOK

Once Upon a Broken Heart by Stephanie Garber

From the #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the Caraval series, the first book in a new series about love, curses, and the lengths that people will go to for happily ever after.

Once Upon a Broken Heart

BUY THE AUDIOBOOK

The Bourne Identity by Robert Ludlum

He was dragged from the sea, his body riddled with bullets. There are a few clues: a frame of microfilm surgically implanted beneath the skin of his hip; evidence that plastic surgery has altered his face; strange things he says in his delirium, which could be code words. And a number on the film negative that leads to a bank account in Zurich, four million dollars and a name for the amnesiac: Jason Bourne.

The Borne Identity

BUY THE AUDIOBOOK


Check out our podcast, Tell Me What To Read!

Tell Me What To Read – Australia's Ultimate Guide to Books (May 15, Edition) Tell Me What To Read

In this episode of Tell Me What to Read host Ben Hunter sits down with fellow book experts Steph and Krystal to chat about our May Book of the Month, Safe Haven by Shankari Chandran! Books Mentioned: Safe Haven When The Moon Hatched The North Wind Five Broken Blades Flawless Diary of a Void Tom Lake Red River Road Tell Me What To Read, powered by Booktopia. Follow @booktopiabooks on Instagram, TikTok, Threads and YouTube. Follow @booktopia on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.
  1. Tell Me What To Read – Australia's Ultimate Guide to Books (May 15, Edition)
  2. Tell Me What To Read – Australia's Ultimate Guide to Books (April 17, Edition)
  3. Tell Me What To Read – Australia's Weekly Guide to Books (March 13, Edition)
  4. Tell Me What To Read – Australia's Weekly Guide to Books (March 6, Edition)
  5. Tell Me What To Read – Australia's Weekly Guide to Books (February 28, Edition)
No comments Share:
Facebooktwitterredditpinterestmail

About the Contributor

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *