Top 10 Summer Romance Reads for 2023

by |January 11, 2023

Summer is the perfect time for a hot little romance!

The warm weather, sunshine and longer days provide the perfect backdrop for reading all about love. If you’re in the mood for a little romance this summer, we have some great options.

From sweet and lighthearted to steamy and intense, there’s a summer romance book out there for everyone. Whether you’re looking for a beach read or something to cozy up with on a rainy day, these books are sure to satisfy your craving for romance.

So grab your sunhat, find a comfortable spot in the shade, and get ready to fall in love with these summer romance books.

Check out our top 10 summer romance recommendations for 2023!


Loathe To Love You by Ali Hazelwood

Three irresistible short stories by the global phenomenon Ali Hazelwood, now available together in paperback for the first time, with an exclusive bonus chapter.

Mara, Sadie, and Hannah are friends first, scientists always. Though their fields of study might take them to different corners of the world, they can all agree on this universal truth: when it comes to love and science, opposites attract, and rivals make you burn.

Buy it here

Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert

USA Today bestselling author Talia Hibbert returns with another charming romantic comedy about a young woman who agrees to fake date her friend after a video of him ‘rescuing’ her from their office building goes viral – perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory and Helen Hoang!

Buy it here

The Rom-Com Agenda by Jayne Denker

Beach Read meets When Harry Met Sally in this vibrantly funny and endearingly sweet story of two lonely people who find love when they least expect it. A love letter to classic rom-com movies, and to anyone who has ever pined for the wrong person.

Buy it here

My Killer Vacation by Tessa Bailey

An all-new, spicy murder mystery from Tessa Bailey, New York Times bestselling author of It Happened One Summer . . .

It was supposed to be a relaxing vacation in sweet, sunny Cape Cod – just me and my beloved brother – but discovering a corpse in our rental house really throws a wrench into our tanning schedule. Now a rude, crude bounty hunter has arrived on the back of his motorcycle to catch the killer and refuses to believe I can be helpful, despite countless hours of true crime podcast listening. Not to mention a fulfilling teaching career of wrangling second graders.

A brash bounty hunter and an energetic elementary schoolteacher: the murder-solving team no one asked for, but thanks to these pesky attempts on my life, we’re stuck together, come hell or high tide.

Buy it here

Things We Never Got Over by Lucy Score

Bearded, bad-boy barber Knox prefers to live his life the way he takes his coffee: Alone. Unless you count his basset hound, Waylon.

Knox doesn’t tolerate drama, even when it comes in the form of a stranded runaway bride.

Buy it here

When in Rome by Sarah Adams

A burnt-out pop star stranded in small-town Kentucky can’t help falling for her unlikely knight in shining armour – the notoriously grumpy owner of the local pie shop – in this charming slice of romance from the author of the TikTok sensation The Cheat Sheet.

Buy it here

Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren

The heart may hide, but it never forgets.

Macy Sorensen is settling into an ambitious if emotionally tepid routine: work hard as a new pediatrics resident, plan her wedding to an older, financially secure man, keep her head down and heart tucked away.

But when she runs into Elliot Petropoulos – the first and only love of her life – the careful bubble she’s constructed begins to dissolve. Once upon a time, Elliot was Macy’s entire world – growing from her gangly teen friend into the man who coaxed her heart open again after the loss of her mother . . . only to break it on the very night he declared his love for her.

Told in alternating timelines between Then and Now, teenage Elliot and Macy grow from friends to much more – spending weekends and lazy summers together in a house outside of San Francisco reading books, sharing favourite words, and talking through their growing pains and triumphs. As adults, they have become strangers to one another until their chance reunion.

Buy it here

Paris Daillencourt Is About to Crumble by Alexis Hall

From the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material comes a sweet and scrumptious romantic comedy about facing your insecurities, finding love, and baking it off, no matter what people say.

Buy it here

Exes and O’s by Amy Lea

The next steamy and hilarious rom-com from Tik Tok favourite Amy Lea

Tara Chen has had her heart broken ten times, by ten different men. Nevertheless, she is still determined to find her perfect match. The only problem? Tara is a romance novel obsessive, and her standards are sky high.

Modern dating apps have killed the meet-cute, so Tara decides to revisit her exes – all ten of them – in the hope of finding her very own trope-worthy second-chance romance. And every heroine needs a sidekick, so she enlists her new flatmate, firefighter Trevor.

Trevor Metcalfe is the first to rush into a burning building but the last to rush into a relationship. Love just isn’t his thing. But, the more time they spend together, the more Trevor appreciates Tara’s authentic, dramatic self.

Can they break the habits of a lifetime and give their spark a chance?

Buy it here

You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hogle

Meet Naomi and Nicholas: the Perfect Couple.

Their glorious, lavish wedding is coming up in three short months . . . and they are utterly, miserably sick of each other.

Unfortunately, whoever backs out first will end up bearing the brunt of the wedding bill. When Naomi finds out that Nicholas has been feigning contentment too, the two of them go head-to-head in a battle of sabotage, pranks, and all-out emotional warfare to see who can annoy the other into surrendering first.

Now that they have nothing to lose, they’re finally being themselves. In fact, they’re having so much fun getting on each other’s nerves that it starts to feel like something else entirely‚Ķ

Buy it here


Like book recommendations? Check out Booktopia’s podcast!

Tell Me What to Read - Podcast
Check our our podcast “Tell Me What To Read”
No comments Share:
Facebooktwitterredditpinterestmail

About the Contributor

Kass is Booktopia's resident Comms and Social Media Specialist. She spends her day scrolling TikTok, picking up the latest trends, and posting content. When she isn't on social media, you can find her on BookTok, reading the latest contemporary romance, or playing with her dog, Leia.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *