The Perfect Wife: JP Delaney on how Silicon Valley inspired his latest psychological thriller

by |August 6, 2019
The Perfect Wife

JP Delaney is the bestselling author of The Girl Before, Believe Me, and now The Perfect Wife, a gripping psychological thriller that’s perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us.

The Perfect Wife takes place in San Francisco’s sparkling Silicon Valley – read on to see why JP Delaney thinks it’s the perfect setting for a psychological thriller!


JP Delaney

JP Delaney

When I tell people my new psychological thriller, The Perfect Wife, is set in Silicon Valley, they’re often surprised. Although I dealt with high-tech minimalism in The Girl Before and used an American setting – New York – for Believe Me, people associate the psychological genre more with suburban secrets than with San Francisco’s vibrant start-up scene. But once I’d decided to make my two protagonists a driven, successful tech entrepreneur and his beautiful artist wife, I gradually realised that Silicon Valley is the perfect setting for a novel of suspense.

There are the people, for one thing. Think Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Elon Musk – successful tech entrepreneurs are often obsessive, and obsession is one of the basic requirements of a psychological thriller. My tech company founder, Tim Scott, has some of those qualities too. Yet such people can also be strangely attractive – think of Snapchat’s Evan Spiegal dating model Miranda Kerr, or Twitter’s Jack Dorsey and Lily Cole. When Elon Musk proposed to the British actress Talulah Riley, he’d only known her two weeks. He didn’t have a ring, so they shook hands on it. (He later bought her three engagement rings, including one for everyday.) That was just Musk’s first proposal to Riley, incidentally; after their divorce, he proposed again – and was accepted.

It’s also a place where women are either idolised or treated horribly, and distasteful though that is, it makes for interesting fiction. Tech companies often call themselves ‘campuses’, with free food, nap pods, all-night hackathons and an all-consuming work ethic. Not surprisingly, some develop a heavily masculine, even macho culture. (It’s worth remembering that Facebook started out as a way to rate women’s attractiveness.) I came across some horrible examples of sexism in my research, some of which I have used verbatim in the book.

“Successful tech entrepreneurs are often obsessive, and obsession is one of the basic requirements of a psychological thriller.”

Yet it’s also a place where the incredible happens every day. At companies like Apple or Google, people’s day jobs are to pursue perfection, bringing to life ideas so beautiful or ground-breaking that they become part of humanity’s future. My story starts with Abbie Cullen, the gifted artist wife of the British tech-firm founder Tim, waking up in a hospital bed with no recollection of how she got there. It’s only when Tim reveals that her memories of their marriage are in fact an upload, painstakingly recreated from her social media feeds, that she realises she hasn’t just come round from a car accident. The premise might sound far-fetched: I thought so myself, until I came across a Google patent application for just such a deep-learning intelligence that “be able to mimic the personality of a loved one.” (It’s currently still under development.)

I’ve always been fascinated by fairy stories that end ‘And they lived happily ever after.’ Perhaps because of my love of a good twist, I immediately think, Really? Is anyone’s marriage as straightforward as that? Tim might have the money to make his courtship a fairytale, but what happens to someone like that when real life begins? What happens when the pursuit of perfection is compromised by, say, having an autistic son? The Perfect Wife asks the question: how do we cope when the person we married turns out to be less than perfect – and that’s a topic that’s still relevant wherever in the world we are.


The Perfect Wife is out now.

This book would be a great gift for Dad this Father’s Day – check out our Gift Guide!

Father's Day Gift Guide
The Perfect Wifeby J.P. Delaney

The Perfect Wife

by J.P. Delaney

Abbie wakes in a hospital bed with no memory of how she got there. The man by her side explains that he's her husband. He's a titan of the tech world, the founder of one of Silicon Valley's most innovative startups. He tells Abbie she's a gifted artist, a doting mother to their young son, and the perfect wife.

Five years ago, she suffered a terrible accident. Her return from the abyss is a miracle of science, a breakthrough in artificial intelligence that has taken him half a decade to achieve. But as Abbie pieces together memories of her marriage, she begins questioning her...

Order NowRead More

No comments Share:
Facebooktwitterredditpinterestmail

About the Contributor

Comments

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *