REVIEW: Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa

by |August 15, 2018

Julie Kagawa
Shadow of the Fox
by Julie Kagawa

Review by Sam Joice

Bestselling author Julie Kagawa is back with a brand new YA fantasy. The first book in a trilogy, Shadow of the Fox is set in historical Japan, and filled with creatures from Japanese history, myth and legend – ninjas, samurai, demons, ghosts and more.

In Shadow of the Fox, every thousand years a great dragon emerges from the sea to grant a wish to whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers. Pieces of the scroll are scattered across the land, hunted by the most dangerous and powerful beings – human and demon.

Yumeko, a young kitsune – or shapeshifting fox demon – has the first piece. When demons attack the temple in which she was raised, Yumeko is forced to flee so she can carry her piece of the scroll to the safety of a hidden temple. While escaping, she teams up with Tatsumi, a young warrior who believes she can lead him to a piece of the scroll. Yumeko needs protection and might just survive to fulfill her quest, as long as Tatsumi doesn’t find out that what he’s been seeking is right under his nose.

Both Yumeko and Tatsumi are hiding dangerous secrets (and their true selves) from each other. Yumeko cannot reveal her kitsune nature to Tatsumi, and she she knows that he seeks the scroll she carries. Tatsumi pretends to be a samurai, when he is really a shinobi, or ninja, under orders to kill her as soon as he has the scroll piece. As the two become closer, the curse of the powerful sword he carries grows stronger and Tatsumi’s grip on his humanity is in peril.

The group of friends that grow around Yumeko have vivid and unique personalities that provide great entertainment. Yumeko is by turns innocent and cheeky, but grows throughout the novel. By the end, she is less naive and her fox magic can create huge illusions in battle. Shadow of the Fox evenly paces the action through the story, building up to an epic conclusion that left me eager for the next book.

Filled with action, tragedy and intrigue, Shadow of the Fox is a thrilling fantasy of epic proportions as an unlikely band of heroes set out on a quest across a lushly drawn world of beauty, magic and danger.

As a huge fan of Japanese anime and manga, for me Shadow of the Fox is ‘Inuyasha’ meets ‘Dragon Ball Z’. But you don’t have to be an anime fan to love Shadow of the Fox – this book is perfect for fans of Kagawa’s Iron Fey series, Lian Hearn and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

Shadow Of The Foxby Julie Kagawa

Shadow Of The Fox

by Julie Kagawa

Enter a beautiful and perilous land of shapeshifters and samurai, kami and legends, humans and demons...a world in which Japanese mythology and imagination blend together to create a brand-new and lushly drawn fantasy adventure from the New York Times bestselling author of TheTalon Saga and The Iron Fey.

Enter a beautiful and perilous land of shapeshifters and samurai, kami and legends, humans and demons...a world in which Japanese mythology and imagination blend together to create a brand–new and lushly drawn fantasy adventure. Prepare to be captivated by book one of an enchanting new young adult fantasy series, Shadow of the Fox!

Once Every Thousand Years...

Every millennium, one age ends and another age dawns...and whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers holds the power to call the great Kami Dragon from the sea and ask for any one wish. The time is near...and the missing pieces of the scroll will be sought throughout the land of Iwagoto. The holder of the first piece is a humble, unknown peasant girl with a dangerous secret.

Demons have burned the temple Yumeko was raised in to the ground, killing everyone within, including the master who trained her to both use and hide her kitsune shapeshifting powers. Yumeko escapes with the temple's greatest treasure – one part of the ancient scroll. Fate thrusts her into the path of a mysterious samurai, Kage Tatsumi of the Shadow Clan. Yumeko knows he seeks what she has...and is under orders to kill anything and anyone who stands between him and the scroll.

A wish will be granted and a new age will dawn.

Order NowRead More

No comments Share:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail

About the Contributor

Comments

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *