VOTE NOW in Heat 4 for your Favourite Australian Authors for 2018!

by |January 15, 2018

Heat 4 has now closed. The Finals Round is now open.
Click here to vote in The Finals Round.

The time has come to VOTE for your Favourite Australian Author for 2018!

Over the next few weeks, nominated authors will face off in a series of 5 Heats; with the top 15 authors from each Heat going through to the Finals! We know there are a lot of authors in each Heat – we can’t help it that Australian authors rock!

Vote here for your favourite authors and don’t forget to join in the conversation on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram using #AusFaveAuthor

Heat 4 is now CLOSED. You have one chance to vote per Heat, but you can vote for as many authors as you would like within each Heat.

Plus, if you would like to go in the draw to win a $1000 book pack, make sure you enter your name and contact details in the form at the bottom.

Nominated authors featured in this heat were: Alan J Whiticker, Alison Lester, Alli Sinclair, Amanda Pillar, Amy Andrews, Andrew Giles, Andrew Rule, Andrian McKinty, Anh Do, Anna Campbell, Anna Funder, Annie West, Arthur Upfield, Belinda Alexandra, Benjamin Law, Ber Carroll, Brooke Sivendra, Chantal Fernando, Charlotte Wood, Chris Womersley, Colin Thiele, Craig Silvey, D.B.C. Pierre, David Hunt, Deborah Burrows, Dianne Blacklock, Dominique Wilson, Eden Summers, Elizabeth Jolley, Emily Rodda, Esther Campion, Felicity Young, Frank Moorhouse, Geoffrey Blainey, Gillian Mears, Greig Beck, Gus Gordon, Helene Young, Henry Lawson, J.L. Perry, Jackie French, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jane Harrison, Jay McLean, Jaye Ford, Jennifer Scoullar, Jimmy Barnes, Jock Serong, Joel Shepherd, John Birmingham, John Flanagan, John M. Green, Josh Donellan, Justine Larbalestier, Kandy Shephard, Kat T Masen, Kate Morton, Kathryn Ledson, Kerri Sackville, Kim Falconer, Kylie Scott, Laura Greaves, Leah Kaminsky, Lian Tanner, Liz Byrski, Loretta Hill, Madeleine St. John, Maggie Joel, Malcom Knox, Margaret McHeyzer, Margo Lanagan, Marianne de Pierres, Matt Stanton, Matthew J. Hellscream, Melanie Casey, Melissa Lucashenko, Meredith Jaffe, Michael Gerard Bauer, Michelle Douglas, MJ Hyland, Monica McInerney, Morris Gleitzman, Nakkiah Lui, Nicholas J Johnson, Nicole Hurley-Moore, Oliver Phommavanh, Pamela Freeman, Patrick White, Paul Collins, Paul Jennings, Pete Evans, Peter Carey, Peter Corris, Peter Helliar, Peter Watt, Pip Harry, Rachel Amphlett, Rhyll Biest, Robert Gray, Roland Perry, Ruth Starke, Sally Thorne, Sara Foster, Scot Gardner, Sean Williams, Stephanie Laurens, Steve Lewis, Sue Williams, Susan Johnson, Tara June Winch, Tea Cooper, Tim Ferguson, Tim Flannery, Tim Low, Tim Miller, Tim Winton, Trent Jamieson, Wanda Wiltshire, Warren Mundine, Zane Lovitt

How It Works

January 2-5: Nominations – CLOSED
Nominate your favourite Australian authors. You can nominate as many as you like, anyone who you think deserves recognition. Nominate them in 1 of 4 easy ways: Email us at, or tag us on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram, naming your favourites. Or use the hashtag #ausfaveauthor. The top nominations will make it through to the Heats.

January 8-19: The Heats – CLOSED
The top nominations will be collated and split into Heats. Over the next two weeks you’ll have the opportunity to vote for a new list of authors. Only the very best authors from each Heat will progress to the final round of voting.

This is where it gets extra fun! During the Heats, you can go into the running to win a splendid book pack valued at $1000 RRP! – all we need is your email address when you vote!

January 22-25: The Final Poll – NOW RUNNING
The top 75 authors from the Heats will make it to this final poll. This will be your final chance to champion your favourite Australian authors. Voting closes at 11:59pm on Friday, 25th January 2018.

January 29: The Countdown Begins
From Monday, 29th January we’ll countdown your top 50 authors, unveiling 20 authors each day, until…

February 1: The Announcement
Australia’s 10 favourite authors will be announced on Friday, 1st February! We’ll be profiling your top 10 authors and the books that have made them your favourites.

Terms & Conditions

Fill out the form above to vote for your favourite Australian author and you could win a book pack, valued at $1000 RRP!

1. You have from January 8th, 2017 12:00pm until 11:59pm January 25th, 2018 to enter.
2. To enter, you must fill out your name, email address and contact phone number, and vote for your favourite Australian author.
2. You can vote in all five heats and in the final poll for a total of 6 entries to the prize.
4. Only entrants with Australian and New Zealand delivery addresses will be eligible to enter the competition.
5. The winner of the competition will be chosen at random and from the list of those who entered.
6. There is one prize available to be won.
7. The winner will be drawn on February 1st, 2018.
8. Entrants must also agree to the terms and conditions on this page.
9. Cookies on your browser must be enabled in order for you to vote.

If you need assistance with accepting cookies to vote, please try these instructions:

Enabling cookies in the Android web browser
1. Open the Browser.
2. Go to Menu > Settings > Privacy & security.
3. Or, go to Menu > More > Settings and find “Privacy settings.”
4. Make sure Accept Cookies is turned On.
5. Once this is set, you can browse websites normally.

Enabling cookies in Chrome for Android
1. Open Chrome.
2. Go to More menu > Settings > Site settings > Cookies.
3. You’ll find the more menu icon in the top-right corner.
4. Make sure Cookies are turned on.
5. Once this is set, you can browse websites normally.

Enabling cookies in Safari for iOS (iPhone/iPad/iPod touch)
1. From your home screen, go to Settings > Safari.
2. Make sure Block All Cookies is turned off.
3. Once this is set, you can browse websites normally.

Enabling cookies in Microsoft Edge for Window 10 Mobile
1. Open Edge.
2. Tap the More menu, then select Settings.
3. Tap View advanced settings.
4. Make sure that Don’t block cookies is selected from the “Cookies” drop-down menu.
5. Once this is set, you can browse websites normally.

Instructions from OverDrive.

1 Comment Share:

About the Contributor

Tanaya has been a lover of books for as long as she can remember. Now, her book collection is a little out of control, mostly consisting of YA fiction and pretty hardcovers. When she’s not reading, she spends a lot of her time taking photos of books for her bookstagram account, @prettypagesblog. She also has a love of Disneyland, bullet journaling and cats.

Follow Tanaya: Twitter


  • Fiona Simpson

    January 15, 2018 at 6:13 pm

    Voted 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *