VOTE NOW in Heat 2 for your Favourite Australian Authors for 2018!

by |January 10, 2018

Heat 2 has now closed. The Finals Round is now open.
Click here to vote in The Finals Round.

The time has come to VOTE for your Favourite Australian Author for 2018!

Over the next few weeks, nominated authors will face off in a series of 5 Heats; with the top 15 authors from each Heat going through to the Finals! We know there are a lot of authors in each Heat – we can’t help it that Australian authors rock!

Vote here for your favourite authors and don’t forget to join in the conversation on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram using #AusFaveAuthor

Heat 2 is now closed. You have one chance to vote per Heat, but you can vote for as many authors as you would like within each Heat.

Plus, if you would like to go in the draw to win a $1000 book pack, make sure you enter your name and contact details in the form at the bottom.

Nominated authors featured in this heat were: Aaron Blabey, Aaron L Speer, Adam Liaw, Adrian Beck, AJ Betts, Alex Miller, Alexis Wright, Alissa Callen, Amara Kent, Andrew McGahan, Andy Lee, Angela Meyer, Anita Heiss, Anita Maxwell, Anna Daniels, Anna Hackett, Anna Krien, Anna Romer, Anne Buist, Banjo Paterson, Beck Nicholas, Ben Pobjie, Brian Falkner, Bronwyn Parry, Bruce McCabe, Cath Ferla, Chloe Hooper, Christine Wells, Christopher Koch, Claire Zorn, Clive James, Corinne Fenton, Danny Parker, David Hill, Derek Hansen, Dr Karl, Ellie Marney, Emma Grey, Evan Green, Fiona Palmer, Fleur Ferris, Gabrielle Wang, Gary Kemble, George Johnston, Graeme Simsion, Grant Lock, Heather Rose, Helen Garner, Helen Razer, Henry Handel Richardson, Ian Irvine, Ilsa Evans, Isobelle Carmody, Jacqueline Harvey, James Clavell, James Colman, James Phelan, James Roy, Jane Harper, Jane Rawson, Janeen Brian, Janette Turner Hospital, Jeannie Baker, Jenn J McLeod, Judy Nunn, Kari Gislason, Kate Grenville, Kathryn Heyman, Kathy Lette, Kim Lock, Kylie Tennant, Leah Ashton, Libby Hathorn, Louise Guy, Magda Szubanski, Mark Smith, Mary Ann O’Connor, Meg Mason, Megan Jacobson, Meredith Appleyard, Michelle Irwin, Murray Bail, Myfanwy Jones, Nadia Wheatley, Natasha Lester, Nick Cave, Nicki Edwards, Nicola Moriarty, Nicole Alexander, Nicole Hayes, Nina Levine, Patricia Shaw, Peggy Frew, Peter FitzSimons, Phil Cummings, R A Spratt, Rachael Herron, Rachael Herron, Rachael Treasure, Rebecca Starford, Reece Carter, Rhonda Sermon, Richard Fidler, Richard Flanagan, Robert Drewe, Rosalie Ham, Rusty Young, Samantha Napier, Sami Shah, Shivaun Plozza, Sophie Green, Steven Amsterdam, Summer Land, Susan Duncan, Therese Creed, Tim Rogers, TJ Hamilton, Toni Tapp Coutts, Tristan Bancks, Victoria Purman

How It Works

January 2-5: Nominations – CLOSED
Nominate your favourite Australian authors. You can nominate as many as you like, anyone who you think deserves recognition. Nominate them in 1 of 4 easy ways: Email us at, or tag us on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram, naming your favourites. Or use the hashtag #ausfaveauthor. The top nominations will make it through to the Heats.

January 8-19: The Heats – CLOSED
The top nominations will be collated and split into Heats. Over the next two weeks you’ll have the opportunity to vote for a new list of authors. Only the very best authors from each Heat will progress to the final round of voting.

This is where it gets extra fun! During the Heats, you can go into the running to win a splendid book pack valued at $1000 RRP! – all we need is your email address when you vote!

January 22-25: The Final Poll – NOW RUNNING
The top 75 authors from the Heats will make it to this final poll. This will be your final chance to champion your favourite Australian authors. Voting closes at 11:59pm on Friday, 25th January 2018.

January 29: The Countdown Begins
From Monday, 29th January we’ll countdown your top 50 authors, unveiling 20 authors each day, until…

February 1: The Announcement
Australia’s 10 favourite authors will be announced on Friday, 1st February! We’ll be profiling your top 10 authors and the books that have made them your favourites.

Terms & Conditions

Fill out the form above to vote for your favourite Australian author and you could win a book pack, valued at $1000 RRP!

1. You have from January 8th, 2017 12:00pm until 11:59pm January 25th, 2018 to enter.
2. To enter, you must fill out your name, email address and contact phone number, and vote for your favourite Australian author.
2. You can vote in all five heats and in the final poll for a total of 6 entries to the prize.
4. Only entrants with Australian and New Zealand delivery addresses will be eligible to enter the competition.
5. The winner of the competition will be chosen at random and from the list of those who entered.
6. There is one prize available to be won.
7. The winner will be drawn on February 1st, 2018.
8. Entrants must also agree to the terms and conditions on this page.
9. Cookies on your browser must be enabled in order for you to vote.

3 Comments Share:

About the Contributor

Tanaya has been a lover of books for as long as she can remember. Now, her book collection is a little out of control, mostly consisting of YA fiction and pretty hardcovers. When she’s not reading, she spends a lot of her time taking photos of books for her bookstagram account, @prettypagesblog. She also has a love of Disneyland, bullet journaling and cats.

Follow Tanaya: Twitter


  • January 10, 2018 at 12:56 pm

    How come Phil Cummings is listed twice? He’s great but I’m not sure any author warrants a double entry!

  • Leeanna Parnell

    January 12, 2018 at 6:32 pm

    Fiona Palmer original fictional stories get my vote

  • sam

    January 14, 2018 at 10:49 am


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *