Kazuo Ishiguro wins the Nobel Prize in Literature for 2017

by |October 6, 2017

Kazuo Ishiguro Winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature

Kazuo Ishiguro has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature for 2017. The Swedish Academy, the deciders of the prize, called Ishiguro a writer “who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world”.

Ishiguro is the author of seven novels, including The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go, and is currently in the middle of writing his latest novel. In an interview after the announcement, Ishiguro said the win was completely unexpected, and that it was yet to sink in, even with the press turning up and queuing in his street. Not tuned into the announcement himself, Ishiguro began receiving calls back to back, and that it wasn’t until the BBC called that he believed the news to be serious and not a hoax.

It’s a ridiculously prestigious honour… I don’t think you would have a more prestigious prize than the Nobel Prize. – Kazuo Ishiguro

The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 110 times since 1901. It is awarded to “the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction”. Previous winners include Bob Dylan, Svetlana Alexievich and Alice Munro. Watch the announcement of Kazuo Ishiguro below.


No comments Share:

About the Contributor

Tanaya has been a lover of books for as long as she can remember. Now, her book collection is a little out of control, mostly consisting of YA fiction and pretty hardcovers. When she’s not reading, she spends a lot of her time taking photos of books for her bookstagram account, @prettypagesblog. She also has a love of Disneyland, bullet journaling and cats.

Follow Tanaya: Twitter


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *