VOTE NOW in Heat 2: Who Are Your Favourite Australian Authors?

by |January 10, 2017

* All Heats have closed *
The Finals commence on Monday, 16 January at 12pm (AEDT)

The time has come to VOTE for Australia’s Favourite Australian Authors!

Last week, thousands of you took to social media to nominate your favourite Australian authors in Booktopia’s annual reader poll. Nominations have now closed, and they’ve been tallied up, with the top contenders now ready to face off in a series of heats, one every day this week.

Voting in Heat 1 has now closed. Find out which finalists from Heat 1 will be progressing straight to the finals.

Vote in Heat 2 now! Voting is open until 9am (AEDT) tomorrow. (Wednesday, 11 January 2017).
Plus, if you leave your name and contact details when voting, you’ll go into the draw to win a $1000 RRP book pack!

This is your chance to champion your favourites and catapult them into next week’s finals. So what are you waiting for? Get voting!

* All Heats have closed *
The Finals commence on Monday, 16 January at 12pm (AEDT)

Nominated authors featured in this heat were: Aaron Blabey, Adam Liaw, Alex Miller, Alexis Wright, Alison Evans, Amie Kaufman, Andy Lee, Anita Heiss, Anna Romer, Ben Pobjie, Bronwyn Parry, Chloe Hooper, Clive James, Colleen McCullough, Deborah Burrows, Delia Falconer, Don Watson, Emily Madden, Emily Maguire, Fiona Palmer, Freya Blackwood, Georgia Blain, Graeme Simsion, Gregory David Roberts, Heather Rose, Helen Garner, Helen Thurloe, Henry Handel Richardson, Honey Brown, Isobelle Carmody, J. M. Coetzee, J.L. Perry, Jaclyn Moriarty, Jacqueline Harvey, James Phelan, Jane Harrison, Jane Rawson, Janeen Brian, Jeannie Baker, Jenny Ackland, Judy Nunn, Julia Baird, Justine Ford, Justine Larbalestier, K M Golland, Kandy Shepherd, Karly Lane, Kate Grenville, Kate Morton, Kathy Lette, Kerry Greenwood, Libby Hathorn, LJM Owen, Magda Szubanski, Megan Jacobson, Melissa Pouliot, Meredith Costain, Merlinda Bobis, Michael Gerard Bauer, Mike Carlton, Murray Bail, Myfanwy Jones, Nadia Wheatley, Natasha Lester, Nicholas J Johnson, Nicole Alexander, Nicole Hayes, Pete Evans, Peter FitzSimons, Peter FitzSimons, Peter Helliar, R A Spratt, Rachael Treasure, Richard Fidler, Richard Flanagan, Rosie Waterland, Ruth Park, Sarah Ayoub, Sarah Barrie, Sarah Ridout, Sarah Wilson, Scot Gardner, Steph Bowe, Susanne Gervay, T.M.Clark, Tania Chandler, Tania Ingram, Therese Creed, Tim Sinclair, TJ Hamilton, Zoe Foster Blake

9 Comments Share:

About the Contributor

Anastasia Hadjidemetri is the former editor of The Booktopian and star of Booktopia's weekly YouTube show, Booked with Anastasia. A big reader and lover of books, Anastasia relishes the opportunity to bring you all the latest news from the world of books.


  • David Fletcher

    January 10, 2017 at 4:10 pm

    Melissa’s style of writing draws you in as a reader. She is certainly deserving of this title.

    • January 11, 2017 at 11:09 am

      Thank you so much David Fletcher for your kind words!! I was thrilled to see my name among so many wonderful Australian authors, and your comment has made my day. Melissa x

  • Janice-may Horwood

    January 10, 2017 at 6:36 pm

    Kelly is a young yummy mummy keep up the good work you keep life interesting

  • Nola Webbe

    January 10, 2017 at 6:47 pm

    Why isn”t Di Morrissey included.

    • Anastasia Hadjidemetri

      January 10, 2017 at 7:20 pm

      Hi Nola, Di Morrissey was an author you could vote for in Heat 1. The votes for Heat 1 have been counted, and Di will be progressing to next week’s all-important final round. Return to the blog on Monday to vote for her!

  • January 11, 2017 at 7:51 am

    Where is Peter FitzSimons ? I can’t seem to vote for him in heat 2 ?

  • Barbara Clapperton

    January 11, 2017 at 8:06 am

    How many authors can you vote for in each round?

    • Anastasia Hadjidemetri

      January 11, 2017 at 12:46 pm

      Hi Barbara, you can vote for as many as you like!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *