The Orwell Prize: 2016 Shortlist announced

by |April 26, 2016

orwell prize

The 2016 shortlist for the Orwell Prize for Books has been announced!

The Orwell Prize is Britain’s most prestigious prize for political writing. It’s awarded each year to the book which comes closest to George Orwell’s ambition to ‘make political writing into an art’.

The judges for the 2016 prize are Lord William Waldegrave, Professor Andrew Gamble, David Goodhart and Fiammetta Rocco. The winner of the £3000 prize will be announced at a ceremony on Thursday 26th May 2016.

David Goodhart, one of the judges comments: “Apart from Ferdinand Mount’s exploration of the Raj, which has its own continuing relevance, all these books left me feeling a lot better informed, and somewhat more anxious, about several of today’s most pressing issues…and they were all damn good reads. Good writing about the things that matter, what more could you ask for in a short-list!”

The Orwell Prize for Books Shortlist 2016 is:

The New Threat from Islamic Militancy by Jason Burke

Other People’s Money by John Kay

The Tears of the Rajas by Ferdinand Mount

The Invention of Russia by Arkady Ostrovsky

The Unravelling by Emma Sky

Circling the Square by Wendell Steavenson

   orwell shortlist


No comments Share:

About the Contributor

Anastasia Hadjidemetri is the former editor of The Booktopian and star of Booktopia's weekly YouTube show, Booked with Anastasia. A big reader and lover of books, Anastasia relishes the opportunity to bring you all the latest news from the world of books.


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *