REVIEW: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

by |February 2, 2016

glass swordReview by Sarah McDuling

Victoria Aveyard really knows how to keep readers wanting more. Last year, Red Queen shot to the top of the best sellers lists as people everywhere found themselves captivated by the story of Mare Barrow AKA The Lightning Girl.

Red Queen is a fast paced and action-packed tale set in a dystopian society with a rigid class structure, in a world full of people with superpowers. The book ended on a pretty intense cliff-hanger and luckily Glass Sword picks up right where we left off.

As the second book in the series, Glass Sword has a lot of work to do setting things up for the next book. And yet not only does it manage to match the intensity of the first book, it packs a pretty harsh emotional punch in the final act. And by that I mean not everyone survives and the ending is pretty devastating – consider yourselves warned! In fact, based on the ending (another agonizing cliff-hanger) Victoria Aveyard is clearly gearing up for a pretty spectacular third book.

A must read for fans of Alexandra Bracken, Veronica Roth and Tahereh Mafi.

Pre-Order your copy of Glass Sword here!


Glass Sword: Kneel or Bleed
Red Queen Series: Book 2

by Victoria Aveyard

glass swordIf there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different. Mare’s blood is Red – the colour of common folk – but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control. The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from the prince and friend who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by the Silver king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors. But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat. Will she shatter …

Pre-Order your copy of Glass Sword here!

No comments Share:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail

About the Contributor

Sarah is the Editor of The Booktopian Blog and Senior Content Producer at Booktopia, where she enjoys unleashing the full capacity of her bookish obsession. She enjoys sword-fighting, time-travel, rare jewel collecting and competitive yodeling. She also leads a very rich fantasy life. An avid reader and book reviewer, Sarah is filled with boundless enthusiasm for the written word! She also has a slight tendency to overuse exclamation points!!!!!

Follow Sarah: Twitter

Comments

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *