2015 Prime Minister’s Literary Award Winners Announced!

by |December 15, 2015

Joan London, Ross Coulthart and Clare Zorn were among the winners at last night’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards in Sydney last night.

7027868-1x1-340x340London took out the prize for best fiction for her novel The Golden Age, telling the story of a Hungarian refugee living in Australia who finds forbidden love while being treated for polio in a Perth hospital. The judges praised the book as “a novel of great beauty and depth”.

The award for best non-fiction was shared this year by Darleen Bungey for John Olsen: An Artist’s Life, and Michael Wilding for Wild Bleak Bohemia.

The prize for Australian history was also shared, with Ross Coulthart honoured for his biography on Charles Bean and David Horner also winning for his acclaimed book The Spy Catchers: The Official History of ASIO Vol 1.

Claire Zorn took out best young adult fiction for The Protected, while author David Metzenthen and illustrator Michael Camilleri winning the prize for best children’s fiction with One Minute’s Silence.

Sydney poet Geoffrey Lehmann took out the poetry prize for his book Poems 1957-2013.

No comments Share:

About the Contributor

Andrew Cattanach is a regular contributor to The Booktopia Blog. He has been shortlisted for The Age Short Story Prize and was named a finalist for the 2015 Young Bookseller of the Year Award. He enjoys reading, writing and sleeping, though finds it difficult to do them all at once.

Follow Andrew: Twitter


No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *