Divergent author Veronica Roth to pen new series

by |March 3, 2015

veronica-roth-478771Just when you thought Veronica Roth fans couldn’t get more excited with the release of the film adaptation of Insurgent, the second novel of the bestselling Divergent trilogy, around the corner, an announcement from the author has given them even more reason to celebrate.

Roth has inked a deal for a new two book series, the first of which is due to arrive in 2017.

According to HarperCollins, the saga will feature ‘a boy who forms an unlikely alliance with an enemy, helping each other attain what they most desire. For one, redemption, and the other, revenge.’

The series is being billed as ‘in the vein of Star Wars‘.

Incredibly, Roth was still a college student when the Divergent series was released. Now 26 years old, we can’t wait to see what she was in store for us!

divergent-series-box-set-books-1-4-plus-world-of-divergent-Divergent Series Box Set

by Veronica Roth

Divergent: Sixteen-year-old Tris has been forced to make a terrible choice. In a divided society where everyone must conform, Tris does not fit. So she ventures out, alone, determined to find out where she truly belongs. Tris can trust no one in this brutal new world, but she is drawn to a boy who seems to both threaten and protect her.

Insurgent: Tris has survived a brutal attack on her home, but she has paid a terrible price. Wracked by grief and guilt, she becomes reckless as she struggles to accept her new future. If Tris wants to uncover the truth, she must be stronger than ever as more shocking choices and sacrifices lie ahead.

Allegiant: The faction-based society that Tris once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she will find a simple new life, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties and painful memories. But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice and love.

Four – A Divergent Collection: Readers first encountered Tobias Eaton as “Four” in Divergent. His voice is an integral part of Allegiant. Readers will find more of this charismatic character’s backstory told from his own perspective in Four: A Divergent Collection. When read together, these long narrative pieces illuminate the defining moments in Tobias Eaton’s life.

Grab a copy of the Divergent Series Box Set here

Grab a copy of the Divergent Series Box Set here

1 Comment Share:

About the Contributor

Andrew Cattanach is a regular contributor to The Booktopia Blog. He has been shortlisted for The Age Short Story Prize and was named a finalist for the 2015 Young Bookseller of the Year Award. He enjoys reading, writing and sleeping, though finds it difficult to do them all at once.

Follow Andrew: Twitter


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *