New Film – The Chronicles of Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis

by |October 27, 2010

This year sees the launch of the most exciting Chronicles of Narnia film yet, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

The intrepid Edmund and Lucy return to Narnia — with their beastly cousin Eustace in tow — on the ship The Dawn Treader, where their old friend Prince Caspian is searching for lost friends of his father’s.

As the children take to the Eastern Seas in their hunt for the friends they find themselves embroiled in a dangerous adventure that leads them once again to Aslan the lion.

Clive Staples Lewis was born in Belfast in 1898. As a child, he was fascinated by the fairy tales, myths and ancient legends recounted to him by his Irish nurse. The image of a faun carrying parcels and an umbrella in a snowy wood came to him when he was 16. However, it was not until many years later as a professor at Cambridge University that the faun was joined by an evil queen and a magnificent lion. Their story became The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, one of the best-loved books of all time. Six further Chronicles of Narnia followed and the final title, The Last Battle, published in 1956, was awarded the highest mark of excellence in children′s literature – the prestigious Carnegie award.

The Long Disputed Question…

In what order should I read The Chronicles of Narnia?

The Booktopia Book Guru prefers to read them in the order they were published..

Here are two of the many proffered options…

Publication Order:

Chronicles of Narnia
1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
2. Prince Caspian (1951)
3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
4. The Silver Chair (1953)
5. The Magician’s Nephew (1955)
6. The Horse and his Boy (1954)
7. The Last Battle (1956)

Chronological Order:

Chronicles of Narnia
1. The Magician’s Nephew (1955)
2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
3. The Horse and his Boy (1954)
4. Prince Caspian (1951)
5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
6. The Silver Chair (1953)
7. The Last Battle (1956

No comments Share:

About the Contributor

While still in his twenties, John Purcell opened a second-hand bookshop in Mosman, Sydney, in which he sat for ten years reading, ranting and writing. Since then he has written, under a pseudonym, a series of very successful novels, interviewed hundreds of writers about their work, appeared at writers’ festivals, on TV (most bizarrely in comedian Luke McGregor’s documentary Luke Warm Sex) and has been featured in prominent newspapers and magazines. ​Now, as the Director of Books at, Australia’s largest online bookseller, he supports Australian writing in all its forms. He lives in Sydney with his wife, two children, three dogs, five cats, unnumbered gold fish and his overlarge book collection. His novel, The Girl on the Page, will be published by HarperCollins Australia in October, 2018.

Follow John: Twitter Website


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *