+612 9045 4394
Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman - Haruki Murakami

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman


Published: July 2007
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $19.99
if ordered within

eBook View Product

Published: 10th October 2011
Format: ePUB

A young man accompanies his cousin to the hospital to check an unusual hearing complaint and recalls a story of a woman put to sleep by tiny flies crawling inside her ear; a mirror appears out of nowhere and a nightwatchman is unnerved as his reflection tries to take control of him; a couple's relationship is unbalanced after dining exclusively on exquisite crab while on holiday; a man follows instructions on the back of a postcard to apply for a job, but an unknown password stands between him and his mysterious employer. In each one of these stories Murakami sidesteps the real and sprints for the surreal. Everyday events are transcended, leaving the reader dazzled by this master of his craft. BLIND WILLOW, SLEEPING WOMAN is Murakami's most eclectic collection of stories to date, spanning five years of his writing. An introduction explains the diversity of the author's choice.

"More insights into life, death, memories, love and kangaroos that one has a right to expect in any single volume" Daily Express "An intimate pleasure" The Times "Literature's answer to David Lynch" Times Literary Supplement "These stories are rich in Murakami magic... a collection that all readers will enjoy" Independent "Sharp but humane observation...as unforgettable as it is untypical" New Statesman

Introduction to the English Edition
Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman
Birthday Girl
New York Mining Disaster
Airplane: Or, How He Talked to Himself as If Reciting Poetry
The Mirror
A Folklore for My Generation: A Pre-History of Late-Stage Capitalism
Hunting Knife
A Perfect Day for Kangaroos
Man-Eating Cats
A ôPoor Auntö Story
Nausea 1979
The Seventh Man
The Year of Spaghetti
Tony Takitani
The Rise and Fall of Sharpie Cakes
The Ice Man
Chance Traveler
Hanalei Bay
Where IÆm Likely to Find It
The Kidney-Shaped Stone That Moves Every Day
A Shinagawa Monkey
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.
Haruki Murakami

Legend has it that on a warm day in Spring 1974 while watching a baseball game Murakami-san had the inspiration to write his first novel, later called Hear the Wind sing.

It won him his first Literary award and is part of The Trilogy of the Rat together with Pinball 1973 and A Wild Sheep Chase .

His career as an writer took off fast and a steady flow of Novels, Short Stories, Articles and Documentaries followed.

The fact that he spent a good part of his life outside Japan, mainly in the US and southern Europe, is maybe the key factor of his growing worldwide success.

The stories and settings are familiar to Westerners and yet there is a distinctive Japanese touch.

Visit Haruki Murakami's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9780099488668
ISBN-10: 0099488663
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 448
Published: July 2007
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 2.8
Weight (kg): 0.32
Edition Number: 1