+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Beyond the Wild River - Sarah Maine

Paperback

Published: 20th April 2017
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $32.99
$25.50
23%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 18th April 2017
Format: ePUB
$16.99

A spellbinding and beautiful novel from a major new voice in fiction, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Santa Montefiore and Rachel Hore.

From the author of The House Between Tides , comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey's To The Bright Edge Of The World, Stef Penney's Under A Pole Star, and Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent.

Scotland, 1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them.

An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.

Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.

About the Author

Sarah Maine was born in England but grew up partly in Canada before returning to England for university. She studied archaeology and for many years worked in the profession but is now a freelance writer and researcher. She lives in York with her family. Sarah's debut novel was published as Bhalla Strand in the UK and as The House Between Tides in the US. Beyond the Wild River is her second novel.

WRITE A REVIEW

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Beyond the Wild River
 
5.0

(based on 1 review)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Reviewed by 1 customer

Displaying review 1

Back to top

 
5.0

Very enjoyable read

By 

from Tasmania

About Me Casual Reader

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Captures Time And Place
  • Interesting Characters
  • Original Story
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Gift
    • Travel Reading

    Comments about Beyond the Wild River:

    Fabulous holiday read, couldn't put the last half down!

    Displaying review 1

    Back to top

    There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel - Independent

    A tremendous accomplishment. So assured, so well-judged, and with such an involving story to tell, this might be the author's fifth or sixth novel, not her first. A literary star is born! - Ronald Frame

    ...it came as a great surprise to learn that this was the author's debut novel. I predict great things for Sarah Maine. - The Bookbag

    Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for [this] impressive debut...[a] beautifully crafted novel. - Publishers Weekly

    Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...The setting emerges as the strongest personality in this compelling story, evoking passion in the characters as fierce as the storms which always lurk on the horizon. A debut historical thriller which deftly blends classic suspense with modern themes. - Kirkus Reviews

    Maine contrasts Hetty's present-day consternation with the past story of Blake and his wife, delivering details at a perfectly suspenseful pace... the historic mystery will keep readers guessing right up until the end. - Booklist

    ISBN: 9781473639683
    ISBN-10: 1473639689
    Audience: General
    Format: Paperback
    Language: English
    Number Of Pages: 400
    Published: 20th April 2017
    Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
    Country of Publication: GB
    Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.4  x 2.5
    Weight (kg): 0.44
    Edition Number: 1