+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Beyond Redemption - Michael R. Fletcher

Paperback Published: 1st July 2015
ISBN: 9780062387035
Number Of Pages: 512

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 15 business days

Earn 45 Qantas Points
on this Book

A darkly imaginative writer in the tradition of Joe Abercrombie, Peter V. Brett, and Neil Gaiman conjures a gritty mind-bending fantasy, set in a world where delusion becomes reality . . . and the fulfillment of humanity’s desires may well prove to be its undoing.

When belief defines reality, those with the strongest convictions—the crazy, the obsessive, the delusional—have the power to shape the world.

And someone is just mad enough to believe he can create a god . . .

Violent and dark, the world is filled with the Geistrekranken—men and women whose delusions manifest. Sustained by their own belief—and the beliefs of those around them—they can manipulate their surroundings. For the High Priest Konig, that means creating order out of the chaos in his city-state, leading his believers to focus on one thing: helping a young man, Morgen, ascend to become a god. A god they can control.

Trouble is, there are many who would see a god in their thrall, including the High Priest’s own doppelgangers, a Slaver no one can resist, and three slaves led by possibly the only sane man left.

As these forces converge on the boy, there’s one more obstacle: time is running out. Because as the delusions become more powerful, the also become harder to control. The fate of the Geistrekranken is to inevitably find oneself in the Afterdeath. The question, then, is:

Who will rule there?

About the Author

Michael R. Fletcher is a Canadian writer whose first novel, 88, was published by Five Rivers Publishing, a small Canadian press. His short fiction can be found in Interzone, On Spec, Daily Science Fiction, Heroic Fantasy Quarterly, and Arcane. This novel grew out of his desire to write something outside of the normal tropes of fantasy, and his contemplation of rare mental disorders (like Cotard's Syndrome) in a fantasy context.

Industry Reviews

"Set in a world where madness equates to power, Michael R. Fletcher's Beyond Redemption is often as nightmarish as it is fascinating. An alarming, original and compulsive tale laced with a blackly comic sensibility. Highly recommended." -- Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Song, on BEYOND REDEMPTION
"Fletcher populated the landscape with an array of mental disorders, turning a well-thumbed psychiatric manual into a dramatis personae...The dystopia and its victims never quite collapse under the weight of the horror, and their perseverance encourages the readers to endure the grimness until the thought-provoking conclusion." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) on BEYOND REDEMPTION
"The journey is dark and emotionally taxing, but there aren't many fantasy novels as smart, ambitious, and excellently written as this one." -- Booklist on BEYOND REDEMPTION
"This novel's title is most appropriate, since so many of the characters have no redeeming qualities - in the best possible way. There's a sick pleasure in watching these awful people go to such extreme lengths to serve their own interests." -- RT Magazine on BEYOND REDEMPTION
"Michael R. Fletcher has put himself on the map as a grimdark author to watch and read for many years to come. 4 Grimdark Lords out of 5." -- Grimdark Magazine
"If someone decided to make a crossover between Inception and Robin Hood set in the Broken Empire, it might look a little bit like Beyond Redemption [...] Michael R. Fletcher's delusions are dark, bloody and shocking. If you haven't met them already, I'd highly recommend you make their acquaintance." -- Fantasy Faction (9 out of 10 stars)
"Beyond Redemption might be the grimdarkiest grimdark novel to ever grimdark." -- SFFWorld

ISBN: 9780062387035
ISBN-10: 0062387030
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 512
Published: 1st July 2015
Publisher: HARVEY PR
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.3 x 13.4  x 3.3
Weight (kg): 0.36

Earn 45 Qantas Points
on this Book