+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Best Friends - Shannon Hale

Best Friends

By: Shannon Hale, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)

Paperback Published: 27th August 2019
ISBN: 9781250317469
Number Of Pages: 256
For Ages: 8+ years old

Share This Book:
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 40 Qantas Points
on this Book

Best Friends is the vividly honest follow-up to the runaway bestselling graphic memoir Real Friends.

Sixth grade is supposed to be perfect. Shannon's got a sure spot in the in-crowd called The Group, and her best friend is their leader, Jen, the most popular girl in school.

But the rules are always changing, and Shannon has to scramble to keep up. She never knows which TV shows are cool, what songs to listen to, and which boys she's allowed to talk to. Who makes these rules anyway? And does Shannon have to follow them? Or should she follow her heart?

Bestselling creators of Real Friends Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham are back with a true story about popularity, first boyfriends, and finding your own path.

About the Author

Shannon Hale is the bestselling author of many books, including the Ever After High series, Princess Academy , and Real Friends. With her husband Dean Hale she co-wrote Rapunzel's Revenge, Calamity Jack , the Unbeatable Squirrel Girl series, and The Princess in Black series. They live with their four children near Salt Lake City, Utah.

About the Illustrator

LeUyen Pham is the bestselling illustrator of Real Friends and The Princess in Black series. She wrote and illustrated Big Sister, Little Sister and The Bear Who Wasn't There. She has illustrated many other picture books, including The Boy Who Loved Math . She lives and works in Los Angeles with her husband and her two adorable sons.

Industry Reviews

"This uncommonly honest portrayal of the lures and pitfalls of popularity will likely ring true to many elementary and middle-school readers." --Booklist, starred review

"A terrific look at middle school culture . . . This authentic, important book will mean a great deal to many kids." --School Library Journal, starred review

"A must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier or Victoria Jamieson . . . This glimpse into middle school is insightful, introspective, and important." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Praise for Real Friends

"Fresh and funny." --New York Times Book Review

"The book's truth is as vibrant as its art." --Washington Post

"I have two boys, they love these books. They love to talk about the friendships, I love that I am discussing all of these issues through the lives of these girls. There is something about it that's so wonderful." --NPR

"Wistful, affecting, and utterly charming." --Booklist, starred review

"A heart-stabbing tale of the everyday social agonies of girlhood." --Wall Street Journal

"Shows us the incredible kindness and solidarity that girls can and do display." --The Mary Sue

"Bound to resonate with most readers, especially fans of Raina Telgemeier." --School Library Journal, starred review

"A wonderfully observed portrait of finding one's place in your world." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Nails what it's like to navigate elementary-school friendships." --Parents Magazine

"Sure to be loved by anyone who has ever felt like an outsider." --Victoria Jamieson, New York Times-bestselling and Newbery Honor author of Roller Girl

"Fresh, fun, and achingly real. Bravo!" --Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times-bestselling and Newbery Honor author and co-creator of Sunny Side Up and the Babymouse series

"This book is SO GOOD. SO MANY FEELS." --Gene Luen Yang, American Born Chinese

ISBN: 9781250317469
ISBN-10: 1250317460
Audience: Children
For Ages: 8+ years old
For Grades: 4 - 6
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 256
Published: 27th August 2019
Publisher: St Martin's Press
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.6 x 14.1  x 1.6
Weight (kg): 0.44

Earn 40 Qantas Points
on this Book