+612 9045 4394
Berlioz : Master Musicians Series - Hugh Macdonald


Master Musicians Series

Paperback Published: 1st January 1996
ISBN: 9780198164838
Number Of Pages: 272

Share This Book:
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Celebrating its 100th anniversary, this extraordinary series continues to amaze and captivate its readers with detailed insight into the lives and work of music's geniuses. Unlike other composer biographies that focus narrowly on the music, this series explores the personal history of each composer and the social context surrounding the music. In a precise, engaging, and authoritative manner, each volume combines a vivid portrait of the master musicians' inspirations, influences, life experiences, even their weaknesses, with an accessible discussion of their work-all in roughly 300 pages. Further, each volume offers superb reference material, including a detailed life and times chronology, a complete list of works, a personalia glossary highlighting the important people in the composer's life, and a select bibliography. Under the supervision of music expert and series general editor Stanley Sadie, Master Musicians will certainly proceed to delight music scholars, serious musicians, and all music lovers for another hundred years.

Industry Reviews

"Very well written...as a guide to the music [Macdonald] is vivid and evocative...the best-written and most authoritative study which the lover of Berlioz's music could wish for."--Opera

Life 1803-1830
Berlioz's character
Music 1818-1830
Berlioz's style
Notes to the text Appendices
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780198164838
ISBN-10: 0198164831
Series: Master Musicians Series
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 272
Published: 1st January 1996
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.32 x 12.7  x 1.6
Weight (kg): 0.27
Edition Number: 3
Edition Type: Revised