+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Believing is Seeing : Creating the Culture of Art - Mary Anne Staniszewski

Believing is Seeing

Creating the Culture of Art

Paperback Published: 1st December 1994
ISBN: 9780140168242
Number Of Pages: 320
For Ages: 18+ years old

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $40.00
$30.75
23%
OFF
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.

Why are the Palacolithic Venus of Wittendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered to be works of art? Is a Cindy Sherman photograph as much 'art' as a portrait by Leonardo da Vinci? Who decides what art is? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this book - which is at once learned and somewhat subversive - presents a new way of assessing our artistic heritage. It seeks to bridge the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high art and popular culture, and probes beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories. Drawing on the widest possible range of illustrative material the book throws new light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued. A most stimulating work, it contrives to involve the reader directly and provocatively in the debate which it undertakes. (Kirkus UK)

Instructions for Use
What is Art?p. 1
Art and the Modern Subjectp. 101
The Term "Art"p. 111
Aesthetics: The Theory of Artp. 119
The Privilege: Creating Artp. 125
The Academyp. 161
The Museump. 171
The Discipline: Art History and The Development of Modernismp. 181
The Avant-Garde, Popular Culture, and the Creation of the Mass Mediap. 199
Art and Culture Todayp. 255
Selected Bibliographyp. 303
Picture Creditsp. 309
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780140168242
ISBN-10: 0140168249
Audience: General
For Ages: 18+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 320
Published: 1st December 1994
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 20.96 x 14.61  x 1.91
Weight (kg): 0.34