+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Begone the Raggedy Witches : The Wild Magic Trilogy : Book 1 - Celine Kiernan

Begone the Raggedy Witches

The Wild Magic Trilogy : Book 1

Paperback

Published: 1st April 2018
For Ages: 9+ years old
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $16.99
$12.25
28%
OFF

A middle-grade fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge, Katherine Rundell and Sally Gardner. When witches kidnap Mup’s dad, she must journey to their home to save him, and so begins a fantastical adventure of rhyming crows, talking cats and outlawed magic. For Witches Borough is a dangerous place, ruled by a tyrannical queen and her band of raggedy witches.

About the Author

Celine Kiernan is the critically acclaimed and multi-award-winning author of five novels for young people. Her ghost story, Into the Grey, was the first book to receive both the CBI Book of the Year Award and the CBI Children’s Choice Award. It won the 2013 Readers' Association of Ireland Book of the Year Award and was shortlisted for the 2014 Japanese Sakura Medal.

She is best known for The Moorehawke Trilogy, which won the Readers' Association of Ireland Award for best book and was shortlisted twice for the Irish Book Awards and was longlisted for the Australian Inkys Award. It has been translated into nine languages. The Wild Magic Trilogy is Celine’s first series for middle-grade readers. She lives in Ireland.

[...] expect rhyming crows, talking cats and outlawed magic in Kiernan's first middle-grade fantasy adventure. Beautiful cover * The Bookseller *
"a spellbinding novel [...] full of enchantment, adventure, humour, friendship, and bravery. It celebrates difference and originality, and is populated with brilliantly unique and vivid characters [...] a classic hero in the making." * Parent Talk *
"Well-written, this is a thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying story. Firmly in the tradition of classic tales of magic such as Narnia, and with hints of Tolkien and Susan Cooper too, readers would also enjoy Peter F. Hamilton's The Queen of Dreams series." * Andrea Reece LoveReading4Kids, February 2018 Book of the Month *
The reader will be hooked from the very first sentence. Being the first book in the trilogy, there is a lot of information about the characters and the witches' world to introduce to the reader but the story moves on quickly with some terrifying battle sequences and revelations. * School Zone *
"This is seriously creepy stuff from the Irish Queen of Young Adult fantasy. However, the promise of a happy ending should persuade a younger demographic to conquer any fear, and if they do they will be rewarded with a journey into a magical realm that is not so distant from reality, where a young girl has the power to take on a tyrannical queen." * Irish Times *
This is a magical, wild and adventurous tale. Celine Kiernan has a gift for powerful atmosphere and pitch-perfectdialogue. A cracking adventure story. * Children's Books Ireland *
Author Article * Children's Books Ireland *
"I really enjoyed Begone the Raggedy Witches, in particular the rhymes that the animals had to speak in." * Toppsta *
"Read by Toby age 10. Toby made a YouTube video for his review https://youtu.be/gtkulGyFOrE He loved the book. We had actual tears when we couldn't find books 2 and 3 today in WHSmith!" * Toppsta *
"It's not often I read a fantasy book but I really enjoyed this one and will be reading the next two in the trilogy. It's a bit dark and scary in places but I think it adds to the story and makes you want to read on." * Toppsta *
"It was gorgeously magical, beautifully written and unique, with deep, resonant questions about power and family and responsibility, and three generations of fierce, fascinating women all off on a fantasy adventure together." * Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart *

ISBN: 9781406366020
ISBN-10: 1406366021
Series: Wild Magic Trilogy
Audience: Children
For Ages: 9+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 288
Published: 1st April 2018
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 2.3
Weight (kg): 0.27