Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Begone the Raggedy Witches : The Wild Magic Trilogy : Book 1 - Celine Kiernan

Begone the Raggedy Witches

The Wild Magic Trilogy : Book 1

By: Celine Kiernan

Paperback | 1 April 2018

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

A middle-grade fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge, Katherine Rundell and Sally Gardner. When witches kidnap Mup’s dad, she must journey to their home to save him, and so begins a fantastical adventure of rhyming crows, talking cats and outlawed magic. For Witches Borough is a dangerous place, ruled by a tyrannical queen and her band of raggedy witches.

About the Author

Celine Kiernan is the critically acclaimed and multi-award-winning author of five novels for young people. Her ghost story, Into the Grey, was the first book to receive both the CBI Book of the Year Award and the CBI Children’s Choice Award. It won the 2013 Readers' Association of Ireland Book of the Year Award and was shortlisted for the 2014 Japanese Sakura Medal.

She is best known for The Moorehawke Trilogy, which won the Readers' Association of Ireland Award for best book and was shortlisted twice for the Irish Book Awards and was longlisted for the Australian Inkys Award. It has been translated into nine languages. The Wild Magic Trilogy is Celine’s first series for middle-grade readers. She lives in Ireland.
Industry Reviews
[...] expect rhyming crows, talking cats and outlawed magic in Kiernan's first middle-grade fantasy adventure. Beautiful cover * The Bookseller *
"a spellbinding novel [...] full of enchantment, adventure, humour, friendship, and bravery. It celebrates difference and originality, and is populated with brilliantly unique and vivid characters [...] a classic hero in the making." * Parent Talk *
"Well-written, this is a thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying story. Firmly in the tradition of classic tales of magic such as Narnia, and with hints of Tolkien and Susan Cooper too, readers would also enjoy Peter F. Hamilton's The Queen of Dreams series." * Andrea Reece LoveReading4Kids, February 2018 Book of the Month *
The reader will be hooked from the very first sentence. Being the first book in the trilogy, there is a lot of information about the characters and the witches' world to introduce to the reader but the story moves on quickly with some terrifying battle sequences and revelations. * School Zone *

"This is seriously creepy stuff from the Irish Queen of Young Adult fantasy. However, the promise of a happy ending should persuade a younger demographic to conquer any fear, and if they do they will
be rewarded with a journey into a magical realm that is not so distant from reality, where a young girl has the power to take on a tyrannical queen."

* Irish Times *
This is a magical, wild and adventurous tale. Celine Kiernan has a gift for powerful atmosphere and pitch-perfectdialogue. A cracking adventure story. * Children's Books Ireland *
Author Article * Children's Books Ireland *

"I really enjoyed Begone the Raggedy Witches, in particular the rhymes that the animals had to speak in."

* Toppsta *

"Read by Toby age 10. Toby made a YouTube video for his review https://youtu.be/gtkulGyFOrE He loved the book. We had actual tears when we couldn't find books 2 and 3 today in WHSmith!"

* Toppsta *
"It's not often I read a fantasy book but I really enjoyed this one and will be reading the next two in the trilogy. It's a bit dark and scary in places but I think it adds to the story and makes you want to read on." * Toppsta *
"It was gorgeously magical, beautifully written and unique, with deep, resonant questions about power and family and responsibility, and three generations of fierce, fascinating women all off on a fantasy adventure together." * Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart *
"The prose holds a potent spookiness that will enchant readers beyond the last page." * Irish Examiner *
"Kiernan's writing swells with colour, magic and passion." * The Irish Independent *
"I cannot possibly praise Raggedy Witches enough. Combining magic, adventure and a real family story, it is a rare and wondrous book; one that I will read again and again. Please just read it." * Fallen Star Stories *

More in Fantasy Fiction for Children & Teenagers

Billy And The Epic Escape - Jamie Oliver

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Into the Mouth of the Wolf - Erin Gough

SIGNED COPY

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Ambush at Sorato : The Royal Ranger: Book 7 - John Flanagan

SIGNED COPY

Liar's Test : The Silverleaf Chronicles - Ambelin Kwaymullina

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
House of Light and Ether : Gilded City - Leia Stone

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Supernatural : An Official Spooky Picture Book - Micol Ostow
Hide and Seek : Wolf Girl 11 - Anh Do

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Percy Jackson and the Olympians : Wrath of the Triple Goddess - Rick Riordan
The Daredevil Princess and the Fire Dragon (Book 3) - Belinda Murrell
The Toll : Arc of a Scythe: Book 3 - Neal Shusterman

RRP $19.99

$18.25

House of Hollow : CBCA's Notable Older Reader's Book 2022 - Krystal Sutherland
Lights Out, Little Dragon! - Debra Tidball

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Assassin's Blade : Throne of Glass Novellas - Sarah J. Maas

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Wonka : The Story Before the Chocolate Factory - Roald Dahl
The Eternal Ones : The Gilded Ones #3 - Namina Forna

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Class Party: Volume 1 : Contains 10 School of Monsters stories! - Sally Rippin
The Deadlands : Hunted - Skye Melki-Wegner

RRP $16.99

$15.80