+612 9045 4394
Beethoven's String Quartets - Philip Radcliffe

Beethoven's String Quartets

Paperback Published: 6th November 1978
ISBN: 9780521293266
Number Of Pages: 196

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Beethoven's string quartets form one of the most intimate and revealing sections of his output, giving a full and varied picture of his musical personality. This study of the quartets by Philip Radcliffe, first published by Hutchinson University in 1965, was reissued by Cambridge University Press in 1978. Each work is examined in detail describing the development of Beethoven's style - a method that highlights the very strong individuality that remained unimpaired throughout the composition of these quartets. They are compared with Beethoven's other music and with the string quartets of composers before and since. This is a book which has proved itself to be of continuing value to the student of music at school and university level and to the general reader.

Industry Reviews

'The whole subject of the quartets has been gone into with deep concentration and affectionate understanding, and if the reader obtains as much pleasure from the perusal of this book as the author obviously has had from the writing of it, he is in for a good time.' Music Teacher

Opus 18 Numbers 3, 1, 2 and 4
Opus 18, numbers 5 and 6
Opus 59 number 1
Opus 59, numbers 2 and 3
Opus 74, Opus 95
Opus 127
Opus 132
Opus 130
Opus 133
Opus 131
Opus 135
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521293266
ISBN-10: 052129326X
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 196
Published: 6th November 1978
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 20.32 x 12.7  x 1.14
Weight (kg): 0.22
Edition Number: 2