+612 9045 4394
Beethoven : Violin Concerto - Robin Stowell


Violin Concerto

Paperback Published: 13th April 1998
ISBN: 9780521457750
Number Of Pages: 140

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • Hardcover View Product Published: 13th February 1998

Beethoven's Violin Concerto was the only significant work of this genre to appear between Mozart's five concertos of 1775 and Mendelssohn's E minor Concerto of 1844. This handbook explores the background to Beethoven's work, its genesis, its place in the composer's oeuvre and the influences which combined in its creation. It describes contemporary reactions to the work both in the musical press and in the concert hall during its first crucial years, and explains how it was eventually accepted into the repertory, spawning numerous recordings and editions. The principal sources and many of the work's textual problems are considered, including discussion of the composer's version for piano and orchestra, Op. 61a. A detailed account of the work itself is followed by a review of the wide variety of cadenzas that have been written to complement the concerto through its performance history.

Towards the Violin Concerto op. 61
The genesis of op. 61
Reception and performance history
The textual history
Structure and style I: 1. Allegro ma non troppo
Structure and style II: 2/3. Larghetto - Rondo: Allegro; Larghetto; Rondo: Allegro
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521457750
ISBN-10: 0521457750
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 140
Published: 13th April 1998
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.36 x 13.64  x 1.04
Weight (kg): 0.17