+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Bay Country : Maryland Paperback Bookshelf - Tom Horton

Bay Country

Maryland Paperback Bookshelf

Paperback

Published: 1st February 1994
For Ages: 18+ years old
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $66.99
$58.75
12%
OFF

"Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots." -- Baltimore Magazine.

"Mr. Horton -- a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following -- ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings." -- New York Times Book Review.

"Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... As Smith Islanders might say, it's a right smart' book." -- Washington Post.

Maryland Paperback Bookshelf.

Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking its harbor roots. * Baltimore Magazine * Mr. Horton-a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following-ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee, and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. * New York Times Book Review * Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... As Smith Islanders might say, it's a 'right smart' book. * Washington Post * This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings. * New York Times * Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking its harbor roots. * Baltimore Magazine *

ISBN: 9780801848759
ISBN-10: 080184875X
Series: Maryland Paperback Bookshelf
Audience: Professional
For Ages: 18+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 248
Published: 1st February 1994
Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 22.9 x 15.2  x 1.78
Weight (kg): 0.34