+612 9045 4394
Arthurian Poets : John Masefield - David Llewellyn Dodds

Arthurian Poets

John Masefield

By: David Llewellyn Dodds (Editor)

Paperback Published: 11th August 1994
ISBN: 9780851153636
Number Of Pages: 416

Share This Book:


RRP $79.99
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

At the end of the nineteenth century, a homeless runaway teenager in New York found a job in a bar and discovered Malory. So began the lifelong interest of the future Poet Laureate, John Masefield (1878-1967), in the story of King Arthur. After becoming a popular, successful narrative poet and playwright, Masefield turned to the Arthurian material in earnest, producing the verse drama Tristan and Isolt in 1927 and Midsummer Night a year later with its Arthurian cycle. All29 of Masefield's previously published Arthurian poems from the Ballad of Sir Bors (1903) to Caer Ocvran (1966) are collected here in addition to the full-length tragi-comedy When Good King Arthur. Also included are nine poems never before published which, together with prose notes, reveal Masefield undertaking an ambitious retelling of the Arthurian myth.

Introductionp. 1
Bibliographical Notep. 30
The Ballad of Sir Borsp. 35
The Begetting of Arthurp. 36
The Birth of Arthurp. 45
The Taking of Morgausep. 51
The Begetting of Modredp. 56
Badon Hillp. 58
The Sailing of Hell Racep. 65
Arthur and his Ringp. 76
Midsummer Nightp. 85
The Fight on the Wallp. 92
The Breaking of the Linksp. 107
Gwenivach Tellsp. 113
Arthur in the Ruinsp. 115
The Fight at Camlanp. 117
The Fight on the Beach or The Passingp. 122
Gwenivere Tellsp. 129
The Death of Lancelotp. 131
Dust to Dustp. 133
On the Coming of Arthurp. 134
The Old Tale of the Begettingp. 135
The Old Tale of the Breaking of the Linksp. 136
South and Eastp. 145
The Love Giftp. 160
Tristan's Singingp. 168
Simkin, Tomkin and Jackp. 179
Tristan and Isoltp. 185
My Library: Volume Onep. 196
Caer Ocvranp. 197
Tristan and Isolt: A Play in Versep. 198
The Aftermathp. 265
Brother Lotp. 268
Arthur's Youthp. 272
Before the Darkness Camep. 275
The Coming of the Piratesp. 276
All Hallow Nightp. 277
The Hunt is Upp. 278
Modred the Messengerp. 281
Gareth's Wakep. 283
When Good King Arthur. An Unpublished Playp. 288
The Old Tale of the Breaking of the Links. Draftp. 333
Midsummer Night. Selections from the Dialogue Draftsp. 343
The Sailing of Hell Race. Outline and Draftsp. 349
The Aftermath. Drafts and Outlinep. 361
Notes 1p. 371
Notes 2p. 373
Prospectusp. 375
Sketchp. 377
Chronologyp. 380
Unpublished Lecturep. 384
Notesp. 387
Sources and Acknowledgementsp. 394
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780851153636
ISBN-10: 0851153631
Series: Arthurian Poets Series
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 416
Published: 11th August 1994
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.51 x 13.95  x 3.05
Weight (kg): 0.52