+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession : Six Tudor Queens : Book 2 - Alison Weir

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Six Tudor Queens : Book 2

Paperback

Published: 16th May 2017
In Stock. Ships today or next business day from Australia
RRP $29.99
$23.95
20%
OFF
if ordered within

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine Of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

The young woman who changed the course of history.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story.
History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.


About the Author

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian (and the fifth bestselling historian overall) in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Sciences and an Honorary Life Patron of Historic Royal Palaces, and is married with two adult children.

Anne Boleyn is the second in the Six Tudor Queens series of novels about the wives of Henry VIII, which began with Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen - a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.

WRITE A REVIEW

It is nice to finally read a different perspective to Ann Bo

5

It is nice to see a different perspective to Ann Boylen and for that Matter Mary Boylen. It was difficult to read the character who cruelly went out to manipulate the King with her family. She is portrayed as a victim who (after years of being pushed) finally snapped and made some questionable decisions. Love this realistic version and will recommend it to anyone who wants to be entertained and informed.

Melbourne Australia

Well worth a read even though it's a well known story

4

I really enjoyed this historical fictional account of Anne Boleyn's life. Having been to Hever Castle and the Tower of London, I was able to picture her there throughout the story. As the name suggests, the story is all about Anne with the other characters secondary to hers. Having read several stories about Henry and Anne and seen shows on TV in the past didn't detract from this telling. I must admit that the end has haunted me all day and I'm still quite disturbed about what she may have gone through. The author's notes at the end are well worth a read. Definitely a book I would recommend to those interested in historical fiction and I would now love to read about all the other wives.

Sydney

true

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

4.5 2

100.0

Alison Weir brings Katherine of Aragon dazzlingly to life - Guardian

Profound historical knowledge with huge emotional intelligence - Earl Spencer

Beautifully written and captivating with so much attention to detail that the Tudor court came alive in every sense - Baattyaboutbooks (blog) on KATHERINE OF ARAGON

This exquisite book charts the rise and fall of Henry VIII's first wife, Katherine... A fascinating insight into this period of our history. Weir's undeniable strength is her immaculate description, enabling the reader to be transported back to Tudor England - Sun

Weir manages to untangle the complex web of 16th-century politics, shown through Katherine's duties as ambassador, and her astute reading of the games being played. This adds greatly to the heft of the character, demonstrating what a competent woman she was becoming - Herald Scotland

Alison Weir clearly admires her heroine ... meticulously researched - The Times

This well-researched and engrossing read gives a new perspective on the long-suffering first wife - Good Housekeeping

An engrossing novel about the life of a monarch whose death changed the course of history, by an expert known for the page-turning quality of her prose. - Readings

ISBN: 9781472227638
ISBN-10: 1472227638
Series: Six Tudor Queens : Book 2
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 480
Published: 16th May 2017
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.3 x 15.4  x 4.0
Weight (kg): 0.71
Edition Number: 1