+612 9045 4394
Angela Carter - Aidan Day

Paperback Published: 23rd April 1998
ISBN: 9780719053160
Number Of Pages: 240

Share This Book:


RRP $41.99
Ships in 3 to 4 business days

This full scale study discusses Angela Carter's fiction in chronological order, and notes that her themes are fairly consistent throughout her work; but consistency of theme is not the same thing as repetition. The new angles and emphases that develop are partly from Carter's immersion in the changing intellectual debates of the times, and concurrently, arise from the reading she was doing at the different stages of her life, which stretched from the Medieval through de Sade to Foucault. Aidan Day describes theoretical arguments on the Enlightenment, modernity, feminism and postmodernism in a way which does not assume too much prior knowledge. Broader in its appeal than much of the specialist work written on Carter, which tends to stress special interests in fantasy, sexuality or the gothic, Day's clarity and thoroughness are refreshing in that they credit Angela Carter's fiction with the central place that it deserves.

Acknowledgementsp. ix
Introduction: 'I'm a socialist, damn it! How can you expect me to be interested in fairies?'p. 1
Shadow Dance (1966), The Magic Toyshop (1967) and Several Perceptions (1968)p. 14
Heroes and Villains (1969) and Love (1971)p. 41
The Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman (1972) and The Sadeian Woman (1979)p. 65
The Passion of New Eve (1977)p. 107
The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories (1979)p. 132
Nights at the Circus (1984)p. 167
Wise Children (1991)p. 195
Referencesp. 216
Indexp. 221
Table of Contents provided by Syndetics. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780719053160
ISBN-10: 0719053161
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 240
Published: 23rd April 1998
Publisher: Manchester University Press
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.6 x 13.8  x 1.91
Weight (kg): 0.32