+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
American Experimental Music 1890-1940 - David Nicholls

American Experimental Music 1890-1940

Paperback Published: 4th November 1991
ISBN: 9780521424646
Number Of Pages: 252

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Earn 85 Qantas Points
on this Book

From the end of the nineteenth century a national musical consciousness gradually emerged in the United States as composers began to turn away from the European conventions on which their music had been modeled. It was in this period of change that experimentalism was born and America subsequently became, as it still is, a major source of new musical ideas for European musicians. David Nicholls considers the most influential figures in the development of American experimentalism, including Charles Ives, Charles Seeger, Ruth Crawford, Henry Cowell and the young John Cage. He analyzes the music and ideas of this group, explaining the compositional techniques invented and employed by them and the historical and cultural context in which they emerged. The book is thus an important contribution toward our understanding of some of the most challenging music of the twentieth century.

Industry Reviews

"...musicians will enjoy seeing a British composer/scholar trace an American experimental movement with an objectivity that only a transatlantic outsider could muster." Kyle Gann, Voice "...a coherent guide to the inner workings of compositions by Charles Ives, Charles Seeger, Carl Ruggles, Ruth Crawford, Henry Cowell and John Cage. Nicholls writes eminently readable prose- no small acheivement in an analytic text- and provides insightful findings. Notes

Introduction: the new and the experimental
In Re Con Moto Et Al: experimentalism in the works of Charles Ives
'On Dissonant Counterpoint': the development of a new polyphony, primarily by Charles Seeger, Carl Ruggles and Ruth Crawford
New Musical resources: radical innovation in the music of Henry Cowell
'The Future of Music: Credo': the development of a philosophy of experimentation in the early works of John Cage
Conclusion: unity through diversity
Select bibliography
Appendix: musical editions and selected readings
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521424646
ISBN-10: 052142464X
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 252
Published: 4th November 1991
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 24.71 x 17.35  x 1.45
Weight (kg): 0.46

Earn 85 Qantas Points
on this Book