+612 9045 4394
American Critical Archives : Louisa May Alcott: The Contemporary Reviews Series Number 13 - Beverly Lyon Clark

American Critical Archives

Louisa May Alcott: The Contemporary Reviews Series Number 13

By: Beverly Lyon Clark (Editor)


Published: 14th April 2011
RRP $54.95
This title is not in stock at the Booktopia Warehouse and needs to be ordered from our supplier.
Click here to read more about delivery expectations.

Other Available Formats (Hide)

Louisa May Alcott was very popular and respected as the author of novels, sensational tales, travel writing and temperance tracts. In addition to providing a wealth of new information for scholars interested in the writer, this considerable collection of nineteenth-century reviews also reveals more about the ways in which reading audiences were constructed in the nineteenth-century U.S. The reviews provide a window into nineteenth-century attitudes toward popular fiction and women writers as well.

Series editor's preface
Flower Fables (1855: reprinted, with additions, as The Frost King, vol. 2 of Lulu's Library, 1887)
Hospital Sketches (1863: reprinted in Hospital Sketches and Camp and Fireside Stories, 1869)
On Picket Duty and Other Tales (1864)
Moods (1865: revised edition, 1882)
Morning Glories, and Other Stories (1868, 1871)
Kitty's Class-Day, Aunt Kipp, Psyche's Art (1868: reprinted together in Louisa May Alcott's Proverb Stories, 1868)
Little Women: or, Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy (Part 1, 1868 Part 2, 1869)
An Old-Fashioned Girl (1870)
Little Men: Life at Plumfield with Jo's Boys (1871)
My Boys, vol. 1 of Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag (London, 1871, 1872)
Shawl-Straps, vol. 2 of Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag (1872)
Work: A Story of Experience (1873)
Cupid and Chow-Chow, vol. 3 of Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag (1874)
Eight Cousins: or, The Ant-Hill (1875)
Silver Pitchers: Independence, A Centennial Love Story (1876)
Rose in Bloom A Sequel to ' Eight Cousins' (1876)
A Modern Mephistopheles (1877: reprinted with A Whisper in the Dark, 1889)
My Girls, vol. 4 of Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag (1878)
Under the Lilacs (1878)
Jimmy's Cruise in the Pinafore, vol. 5 of Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag (1879)
Jack and Jill: A Village Story (1880)
An Old-Fashioned Thanksgiving, vol. 6 of Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag (1882)
Spinning- Wheel Stories (1884)
A Christmas Dream, vol. 1 of Lulu's Library (1886)
Jo's Boys, and How They Turned Out: A Sequel to 'Little Men' (1886)
A Garland for Girls (1888)
Recollections, vol. 3 of Lulu's Library (1889)
Comic Tragedies, Written by 'Jo' and 'Meg' and Acted by the 'Little Women' (1893)
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521155397
ISBN-10: 0521155398
Series: American Critical Archives
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 420
Published: 14th April 2011
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.6  x 2.2
Weight (kg): 0.59