Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
All the Golden Light : A stirring, dramatic new debut historical fiction novel for readers of Kirsty Manning, Natasha Lester and Rosalie Ham - Siobhan O'Brien

All the Golden Light

A stirring, dramatic new debut historical fiction novel for readers of Kirsty Manning, Natasha Lester and Rosalie Ham

By: Siobhan O'Brien

Paperback | 31 January 2024

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $32.99

$30.25

or 4 interest-free payments of $7.56 with

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
A stirring, dramatic story about finding connection, meaning and beauty in a time of darkness ... and the craving and savagery of the heart

1918, Belowla. As the Great War grinds to an end, Adelaide Roberts accompanies her father to a rugged island off the south coast of New South Wales. While loss and deprivation have decimated the country, Ada dreams of a life filled with purpose and hope.

On the windswept rocky outcrop she meets lighthouse keeper Emmett Huxley, a dark-eyed outsider haunted by his service in France. Adelaide and Emmett are inexorably drawn together, but Adelaide discovers plans have been made for her with decorated returned soldier Donal Blaxland, a local landowner.

Soon Adelaide is forced to make a choice about her future, and discovers that Donal harbours terrible secrets of his own. As she begins to understand the depths of Donal's desperation, Adelaide knows she must leave - and between the treacherous waters of the coast and the rugged ranges of an ancient land, she fights for her survival, determined to live and love on her own terms.

A moving, uplifting story about the craving of the heart - and hope in the darkest of times.

About the Author

Siobhan O'Brien is an author, journalist and communications person. She has written a number of books, including A Life by Design: The Art and Lives of Florence Broadhurst, and has worked for many media outlets including the Sydney Morning Herald, Vogue, Indesign and Monument. When she is not writing, she is singing with her band, Minnie and The Moonrakers.
Industry Reviews
'Suspenseful and thrilling' - TANIA BLANCHARD

'Powerful and moving' - VICTORIA PURMAN

'Heartstopping' - ALLI PARKER

'A completely immersive tale. So much connection, beauty and gorgeous description. I loved Adelaide, and know readers will too' - ANNA LODER, READABOOK

More in Historical Fiction

The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Imperial Harvest - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Tattooist of Auschwitz - Heather Morris

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Pemulwuy : The Rainbow Warrior - Eric Willmot

RRP $34.99

$27.95

20%
OFF
The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Vanishing Point - Andrea Hotere

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Maya's Dance - Helen Signy

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Sea Captain's Wife - Jackie French

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Deception Bay : Book No.2 - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$23.95

20%
OFF
Atlas: The Story of Pa Salt : The Seven Sisters: Book 8 - Harry Whittaker
Bone Rites - Natalie Bayley

FREE SHIPPING

Paperback

RRP $21.99

$20.90

The Escapades of Tribulation Johnson - Karen Brooks

RRP $32.99

$30.25

At The Foot Of The Cherry Tree - Alli Parker

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Disappearance of Astrid Bricard - Natasha Lester

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Bass Rock : Winner of the 2021 Stella Prize - Evie Wyld
The Hidden Storyteller : A Novel - Mandy Robotham

RRP $32.99

$30.25