+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
A Matter of Time - Shashi Deshpande

Paperback Published: 1st May 2001
ISBN: 9781558612648
Number Of Pages: 272

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $33.95
$26.75
21%
OFF
This title is not in stock at the Booktopia Warehouse and needs to be ordered from our supplier.
Click here to read more about delivery expectations.

One morning, with no warning, Gopal, respected professor, devoted husband, and caring father, walks out on his family for reasons even he cannot articulate. His wife, Sumi returns with their three daughters to the shelter of the Big House, where her parents live in oppressive silence: they have not spoken to each other in 35 years. As the mystery of this long silence is unraveled, a horrifying story of loss and pain is laid bare—a story that seems to be repeating itself in Sumi's life.

This multigenerational story, told in the individual voices of the characters, catches each in turn the cycles of love, loss, strength, and renewal that becomes an essential part of the women's identities. A Matter of Time reveals the hidden springs of character while painting a nuanced portrait of the difficulties and choices facing women—especially educated, independent women—in India today.

"Austere, philosophical, and rich; a work that . . . grows in moral force and pathos." --The New York Times Book Review "With delicate compassion and needle-sharp insights, Deshpande delineates the battle to build an independent life against the backdrop of ancient discriminations and daily humiliations. . . . The novel's rich, nuanced prose weaves the tale of four generations of women into a complex tapestry." --Ms. magazine "This novel places Deshpande in distinguished international company [for] readers who enjoy Anita Brookner or Isabel Allende." --Publishers Weekly "A very satisfying piece of reading and a significant contribution to the world of literature because of . . . the poignancy and sensitivity with which it handles the characters and their worlds." --The Book Review "A poignant peep into the tangled web of human relationships." --Femina "This strength of Deshpande's fiction lies in its compassion, its tolerance and understanding of human relationships." --Times Literary Supplement

ISBN: 9781558612648
ISBN-10: 1558612645
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 272
Published: 1st May 2001
Publisher: Feminist Press
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.7 x 12.6  x 1.8
Weight (kg): 0.35