+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market - John Allen Paulos

A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market

Paperback

Published: 4th May 2004
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
$36.80

In "A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market" best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's "A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper" and "Innumeracy" favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's "A Random Walk Down Wall Street" and Jeremy Siegel's "Stocks for the Long Run," this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.

WRITE A REVIEW

I loved it as I like numbers

5

Great reference book with facts and figures

NSW north coast

true

A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market

5.0 1

100.0

"With accustomed humor and apt examples, Paulos tackles complex computations that are vaguely understood and frequently misapplied by Wall Street pros."

Anticipating Others' Anticipationsp. 1
Falling in Love with WorldCom
Being Right Versus Being Right About the Market
My Pedagogical Cruelty
Common Knowledge, Jealousy, and Market Sell-Offs
Fear, Greed, and Cognitive Illusionsp. 13
Averaging Down or Catching a Falling Knife?
Emotional Overreactions and Homo Economicus
Behavioral Finance
Psychological Foibles, A List
Self-Fulfilling Beliefs and Data Mining
Rumors and Online Chatrooms
Pump and Dump, Short and Distort
Trends, Crowds, and Wavesp. 37
Technical Analysis: Following the Followers
The Euro and the Golden Ratio
Moving Averages, Big Picture
Resistance and Support and All That
Predictability and Trends
Technical Strategies and Blackjack
Winning Through Losing?
Chance and Efficient Marketsp. 57
Geniuses, Idiots, or Neither
Efficiency and Random Walks
Pennies and the Perception of Pattern
A Stock-Newsletter Scam
Decimals and Other Changes
Benford's Law and Looking Out for Number One
The Numbers Man-A Screen Treatment
Value Investing and Fundamental Analysisp. 85
e is the Root of All Money
The Fundamentalists' Creed: You Get What You Pay For
Ponzi and the Irrational Discounting of the Future
Average Riches, Likely Poverty
Fat Stocks, Fat People, and P/E
Contrarian Investing and the Sports Illustrated Cover Jinx
Accounting Practices, WorldCom's Problems
Options, Risk, and Volatilityp. 117
Options and the Calls of the Wild
The Lure of Illegal Leverage
Short-Selling, Margin Buying, and Familial Finances
Are Insider Trading and Stock Manipulation So Bad?
Expected Value, Not Value Expected
What's Normal? Not Six Sigma
Diversifying Stock Portfoliosp. 141
A Reminiscence and a Parable
Are Stocks Less Risky Than Bonds?
The St. Petersburg Paradox and Utility
Portfolios: Benefiting from the Hatfields and McCoys
Diversification and Politically Incorrect Funds
Beta-Is It Better?
Connectedness and Chaotic Price Movementsp. 163
Insider Trading and Subterranean Information Processing
Trading Strategies, Whim, and Ant Behavior
Chaos and Unpredictability
Extreme Price Movements, Power Laws, and the Web
Economic Disparities and Media Disproportions
From Paradox to Complexityp. 187
The Paradoxical Efficient Market Hypothesis
The Prisoner's Dilemma and the Market
Pushing the Complexity Horizon
Game Theory and Supernatural Investor/Psychologists
Absurd Emails and the WorldCom Denouement
Bibliographyp. 203
Indexp. 205
Table of Contents provided by Rittenhouse. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780465054817
ISBN-10: 0465054811
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 224
Published: 4th May 2004
Publisher: INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 12.5 x 20.2  x 1.3
Weight (kg): 0.23
Edition Number: 1
Edition Type: New edition